Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Hong Kong Map / Hong Kong Facts

Hong Kong Facts

Know Facts about World Countries

What is Hong Kong ?
Hong Kong is a Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China, and a former colony of the United Kingdom.
Hong Kong’s status as a Special Administrative Region means that it is a dependency of China, though primarily autonomous under the same concept of “one country, two systems” that Macau enjoys. Under this system, Hong Kong retains its political system and capitalist economic system, while China is reunited.

How did Hong Kong become a Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China ?

Hong Kong became a British colony with the Treaty of Nanking after the First Opium War in 1842. The region remained under British rule, aside from a period of Japanese occupation from 1941 to 1945, until its sovereignty returned to the People’s Republic of China in 1997.

On December 19, 1984, the People’s Republic of China and the United Kingdom signed the Sino-British Joint Declaration, agreeing that Hong Kong would return the People’s Republic of China on July 1, 1997, after 156 years of British Rule.

Hong Kong became a limited democracy, allowed to continue its political and economic systems, though it depends on the People’s Republic of China to handle its foreign relations and defense. It will remain a Special Administrative Region for at least 50 years under the agreement.

Where is Hong Kong located ?
Hong Kong is located on China’s southern coast, across the Pearl River Delta from Macau. Hong Kong borders the South China Sea as well as China’s province, Guangdong.

How big is Hong Kong ?
Hong Kong spans an area of 1,104 square kilometers, with 733 kilometers of coastline. Hong Kong includes over 200 islands, like Hong Kong Island and Lantau, the largest island in Hong Kong.

What is the population of Hong Kong ?
Hong Kong’s population is approximately 7 million. Hong Kong has one of the highest population densities in the world, and features in the top ten of longest life expectancies in the world.

What religions are practiced in Hong Kong ?
Hong Kong enjoys freedom of religion, and the majority of the population chooses not to practice any religion. Traditional Chinese religions, like Buddhism, Taoism, and Confucianism are commonly practiced in Hong Kong. Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, and Judaism are practiced by a minority of the population.

What languages are spoken in Hong Kong ?
Cantonese and English are the official languages of Hong Kong. Over 90% of Hong Kong’s population speaks Cantonese. Mandarin (Putonghua), Japanese, French, Tagalog, and several other languages are also spoken in Hong Kong, mainly as the native language of immigrants, or as a second language.

What is the national holiday of Hong Kong ?
Hong Kong celebrates the founding of the People’s Republic of China on October 1. The anniversary of the establishment of Hong Kong as a Special Administrative Region is celebrated on July 1.

Who are the political leaders of Hong Kong ?
Since Hong Kong is a dependency of the People’s Republic of China, the president of China is also the president of Hong Kong.

Chief of State: President of China Xi Jinping

Head of Government: Chief Executive Leung Chun-ying

What form of currency is used in Hong Kong ?
Hong Kong uses the Hong Kong dollar as its form of currency

What flower is represented on Hong Kong’s flag ?
The flower on Hong Kong’s flag is called a Bauhinia (blakeana), which is a type of orchid that symbolizes the region. This type of flower was developed in Hong Kong, and is sometimes called the Hong Kong orchid. It was named for British governor of Hong Kong, Sir Henry Blake. Though the flag depicts the Bauhinia in white, the flower is actually purple.

How many island make up Hong Kong ?
Of the total area of 426 square miles, 19 square miles is covered by water. Hong Kong comprises Hong Kong Island, the Kowloon Peninsula, the New Territories, and over two hundred other offshore islands. Lantau Island is the largest island in the city covering an area of 56.819 square miles.

What are the administrative divisions of Hong Kong ?
Hong Kong is sub-divided into eighteen geographic districts, for administrative purposes. A district council is appointed for each district which advises the government on local matters that include public facilities, community programs, cultural activities, and environmental improvements.

Why is Hong Kong considered the world’s most vertical city ?
Hong Kong has over 7,650 skyscrapers, which give the city an impressive cityscape. Since Hong Kong does not have a very large area, its builders had to build up rather than out, in order to accommodate the people. Many of the world’s tallest buildings are located in Hong Kong.


Last Updated on 07 March 2014