How Many Time Zones does Mexico have? - Answers

Answers » World » How Many Time Zones does Mexico have?

How Many Time Zones does Mexico have?

4.6/5 - (5 votes)
4.6/5 - (5 votes)
Time Zones in Mexico
Map of Mexico depicting time zones of the country

There are four time zones in Mexico. The time zones observed in the country are the Southeast Zone, Central Zone, Pacific Zone, and Northwest Zone.

The Southeast Zone is observed in the state of Quintana Roo, which is located in the Yucatán Peninsula’s eastern part.

The eastern three-fourths part of Mexico observes the Central Zone. This includes the cities of Guadalajara, Mexico City, and Monterrey.

The Pacific Zone is observed in the states of Chihuahua, Sonora, Baja California Sur, Sinaloa, and Nayarit.

The state of Baja California, including its largest city Tijuana, uses the Northwest Zone.

Earlier, there were just three time zones in Mexico. On February 1, 2015, the state of Quintana Roo moved its clocks forward by an hour. The state now uses the newly created Southeast Zone, thus bringing the total number of zones in Mexico to four.

The Daylight-Saving Time begins on the first Sunday in April and ends on the last Sunday in October. However, the entire country does not observe DST. The areas not using Daylight Saving Time are the states of Sonora and Quintana Roo. The island territories of Mexico also do not observe Daylight-Saving Time.

Related Links:

Related Maps:

Mexico Map
Mexico Map
World Time Zone Map
World Time Zone Map

Recent Posts
"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."