Which soccer team has won the maximum number of UEFA Champions League trophy? - Answers

Questions answered : 1347||Last updated on : November 10th, 2019 At 09:10pm (ET)
Answers » Sports » Which soccer team has won the maximum number of UEFA Champions League trophy?

Which soccer team has won the maximum number of UEFA Champions League trophy?

World Map depicting Champion League Winners

Real Madrid has won the most UEFA Champions League titles, with the Los Blancos winning the prestigious club tournament 13 times. A total of 21 teams from 10 different European nations have won the UEFA Champions League since the inception of the tournament in 1955. Formerly known as European Cup, the name of the tournament was changed in 1992 to its present-day name; Champions League. The UEFA Champions League is one of the most coveted club football tournaments in the world, as it is broadcasted in nearly 200 countries every year.

Over the years, Champions League has seen some of the greatest players in the game of football gracing the tournament with their mesmerizing performances leaving the crowd and millions of supporters awestruck.

Real Madrid is the most decorated club in the UEFA Champions League with an unimaginable 13 trophies since the inception of the tournament in 1955. Los Blancos won the inaugural tournament and went onto to win five straight, with the likes of Alfredo de Stefanos and Ferenc Puskas tearing the opponents apart in five consecutive finals. Since then, the All Whites have got their hands around the trophy eight times with the last one added to the trophy cabinet in May 2018. The club from Madrid went on to defeat Liverpool FC in the final in the Ukrainian capital Kiev, taking their tally to 13 trophies. Real Madrid became the only team to win the competition three times in a row since the tournament changed its name to Champions League.

Here is a list of the other 21 teams that have won the UEFA Champions League:

Club Number of Trophies Year
Real Madrid, Spain 13 1955-56, 1956-57, 1957-58, 1958-59, 1959-60, 1965-66, 1997-98, 1999-00, 2001-02,2013-14, 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18
AC Milan, Italy 7 1962-63, 1968-69, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1993-94, 2002-03, 2006-07
FC Barcelona, Spain 5 1991-92, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2013-14
Bayern Munich, Germany 5 1973-74, 1974-75, 1975-76, 2000-01, 2012-13
Liverpool, England 5 1976-77, 1967-78, 1980-81, 1983-84, 2004-05
Ajax, Netherland 4 1970-71, 1971-72, 1972-73, 1994-95
Internazionale, Italy 3 1963-64, 1964-65, 2009-10
Manchester United 3 1967-68, 1998-99, 2007-08
SL Benfica 2 1960-61, 1961-62
Juventus, Italy 2 1984-85, 1995-96
Nottingham Forest, England 2 1978-79, 1979-80
FC Porto, Portugal 2 1986-87, 2003-04
Aston Villa, England 1 1981-82
Celtic, Scotland 1 1966-67
Chelsea FC, England 1 2011-12
Crvena Zvezda (Red Star Belgrade), Serbia (earlier part of Yugoslavia) 1 1990-91
Borussia Dortmund, Germany 1 1996-97
FC Steaua Bucuresti, Romania 1 1985-86
Feyenoord, Netherland 1 1969-70
Hamburg SV, Germany 1 1982-83
Olympique Marseille, France 1 1992-93
PSV Eindhoven, Netherland 1 1987

Know more about FIFA :

Related Maps and info:

Where is Football world cup 2022

Where is Football world cup 2022
FIFA Members Countries
FIFA Members Countries
Teams Qualified for World Cup 2018
Teams Qualified for World Cup 2018

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."