Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent

Regions of Australia

Region in Australia is a district or province located in the island continent of Australia with distinct topographical characteristics. Located in the southern hemisphere, this smallest continent of the world is also accompanied by the islands of Tasmania and New Zealand. Australia neighbors Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea in the south, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and the French colony of New Caledonia in the southwest, and New Zealand in the northwest.
Region in Australia can be broadly divided according to their Inter Territorial regions, viz. Capital Country - It is one of those sixteen regions whose history longs back to ancient times, located in New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory districts. Since it overlaps the capital city of Canberra, it is aptly named so.

Lake Eyre Basin - Classified being one of the largest internal drainage systems in the world, the region covers one-sixth of the continent including, inland Queensland, portions of South Australia and the Northern Territory, and some part of western New South Wales.

Murray-Darling Basin - most significant agricultural areas of Australia, with flat, low-lying and far inland. Many long and slow-flowing rivers supply large quantity of water It includes 70% of Australia's irrigation resources and 42% of the nation's farmland. It encircles the states of New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Southern Australia and Australian Capital Territory.

Northern Australia - Comprised of territories of Australia of Queensland and the Northern Territory. It envelops one fifth pf the Australian population includingthe densest city of Brisbane.

The Nullarbor - Consists of flat, almost treeless, arid or semi-arid land, situated at the north of Great Australian Bight. Stretches about 1200 km from east - South Australia to west Western Australia.

Outback - The remote and arid inlands of the Northern Territory and Western Australia.
Southern Australia - Include the territories of New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory.

Wine Region in Australia : If you are on a visit to Australia then you must visit Australia Wine region and taste the wine and some of those regions are Hunter Valley, Mudgee, Barossa Valley etc.

However, in parity with the political map of Australia, it is sectioned into seven separate provinces including:

1.New South Wales - Comprised of Blue Mountains, Central Coast, Central West, Greater Western Sydney, Far South Coast, Far West, Newcastle, Illawarra or Wollongong, Lord Howe Island, New England, Murray Mid North Coast, North West Slopes, Northern Rivers, Riverina, Sapphire Coast, Snowy Mountains, South Coast, Southern Highlands, Southern Tablelands, South West Slopes and the city of Sydney.

2.Northern Territory - Arnhem Land and Central Australia.

3.Queensland - Brisbane, Bundaberg, Coral Coast and Country, Capricorn, Fraser Coast, South Burnett Gladstone, Gold Coast, Mackay Outback, Queensland, South East Queensland, Southern Downs, Sunshine Coast, Toowoomba and the Darling Downs, Torres Strait Islands, Townsville, North Queensland and Whitsunday.

4.South Australia - Adelaide Plains, Adelaide Hills/Mount Lofty Ranges, Barossa Valley, Copper Triangle, Eyre Peninsula, Far North, Fleurieu Peninsula, Flinders Ranges, Kangaroo Island, Limestone Coast, Mid North, Murraylands, Riverland, Yorke Peninsula.

5.Tasmania - Central Highlands, Midlands and West Coast.

6.Victoria - Gippsland, The Grampians, The Mallee, Melbourne, Mornington Peninsula, The Victorian Alps, Western District, The Wimmera and Yarra Valley.

7.Western Australia - Gascoyne, Goldfields-Esperance, Great Southern, Kimberley, Mid West, Perth, Pilbara, South West, Wheatbelt, Christmas Island, Cocos Islands.

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at