What countries share their land border with just one nation? - Answers

Answers » Geography » What countries share their land border with just one nation?

What countries share their land border with just one nation?

5/5 - (5 votes)
5/5 - (5 votes)

World Map highlighting countries sharing Land Border with One country

We live in a demarcated world where borders between countries range from simple to complicated. While some are peaceful, others are not. There are many countries which share their border with several other nations, but only a few have just one neighbor. Currently, there are 17 nations across the globe which share their land border with just one other nation.

In North American, Canada shares its border with the United States. The border between the two countries, which is 5,526 miles long, is the longest international border in the world. Canada is a strong ally of the United States and as such, the Canada-USA border is one of the most peaceful borders in the world.

Portugal shares a 754-mile-long land border with Spain, while the rest of the country is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean.

Lesotho is a landlocked country, which is surrounded by South Africa. The country covers an area of 11,720 square miles and has a population of approximately 2 million.

Both Papua New Guinea and Timor-Leste share their border with just one nation – Indonesia.

South Korea shares a 148-mile-long border with North Korea. Created in 1953, the Korean Demilitarized Zone is the most militarized zone and border in the world.

In Europe, Vatican City, which is surrounded by Italy, is the smallest country in the world covering just 0.2 square miles.

Just like Vatican City, San Marino is another nation that is surrounded by Italy. The country covers an area of just 24 square miles and comprises a population of roughly 33,000.

The only country that Ireland shares its borders with is the United Kingdom. Similarly, the United Kingdom also shares land borders only with Ireland.

The Scandinavian country, Denmark shares its borders with Germany.

Saudi Arabia is the only country with which Qatar shares its border. The rest of the territory of Qatar is surrounded by the Persian Gulf.

The other countries that share their land border with just one country are Brunei (Malaysia), Dominican Republic (Haiti), The Gambia (Senegal), Haiti (Dominican Republic), and Monaco (France).

Here is a tabular representation of the countries that share the border with just one country.

Country Neighbor Border length (mi)
Canada United States 5,526
Portugal Spain 754
Lesotho South Africa 565
Papua New Guinea Indonesia 510
The Gambia Senegal 460
Brunei Malaysia 237
Dominican Republic Haiti 220
Haiti Dominican Republic 220
Ireland United Kingdom 220
United Kingdom Ireland 220
South Korea North Korea 148
Timor-Leste Indonesia 142
Denmark Germany 42
Qatar Saudi Arabia 37
San Marino Italy 24
Monaco France 3
Vatican City Italy 2


Know more:

Related Maps:

Canada Map
Canada Map
US Map
US Map
UK Map
UK Map
Europe Map
Europe Map

Recent Posts
"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."