Where is the Valley of Ten Peaks? - Answers

Answers » Geography » Where is the Valley of Ten Peaks?

Where is the Valley of Ten Peaks?

5/5 - (4 votes)
5/5 - (4 votes)

Location map of The Valley of Ten Peaks in Canada

The Valley of Ten Peaks is located in Banff National Park, Canada. The 2,564 square mile (6,641 square km) park is located at a distance of about 80 miles (130 kilometers) west of Calgary, in the province of Alberta. It occupies the eastern slopes of the Rocky Mountains. Banff National Park, which encompasses the Valley of Ten Peaks is the oldest national park in Canada and was established in 1885. The national park was designated a UNESCO World Heritage site (as part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks) in 1984.

The ten peaks as visible from Sentential Pass (east to west) and their height, in feet, are:

Peak Name Height (ft)
Mount Fay 10,613
Mount Little 10,131
Mount Bowlen 10,079
Mount Tonsa 10,030
Mount Perren 10,010
Mount Allen 10,860
Mount Tuzo 10,650
Deltaform Mountain 11,234
Neptuak Mountain 10,607
Wenkchemna Peak 10,401

The crystal clear blue waters of the Moraine Lake in the Valley of the Ten Peaks reflect these ten lofty peaks. The scenic beauty of this lake and its grandeur are legendary and attract a number of nature lovers each year. In fact, the Valley of Ten Peaks and the Moraine Lake are so well known that they were featured on the back of the Canadian $20 bills between 1969 and 1979.

The Valley of Ten Peaks is a favorite with adventure enthusiasts and hikers. A number of hiking trails (of various difficulty levels) crisscross the park. Paddles and canoes are also available for those who prefer to canoe through the lake.

It is believed that in the late 1800s, American explorer and alpinist Samuel Allen who visited the region, named the ten peaks after the native Nakoda (Stony Indian) names for the peaks. These names – HeejeeNum, Yamnee, Tonsa, Sapta, Shappee, Shagowa, Shakhnowa, Neptuak, and Wenkchemna – are believed to be the native names for the first 10 numbers, signifying that there are 10 peaks. These names, however, were lost (except Tonsa, Neptuk, and Wenkchemna) and recent explorers gave the peaks their current names.

Related Maps:

Canada Map
Canada Map
Calgary Map
Calgary Map
Alberta Map
Alberta Map

Recent Posts
"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."