Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Maps / Australia Map / States / Victoria Map

Map of Victoria

Map of Victoria Australia Capital Territorry New South Wales Map Southern Australia Map
Description: Showing the capital, major cities, airports, roads, rail network, state boundaries of Map of Victoria, Australia. Disclaimer

Facts about Victoria State of Australia
GovernmentConstitutional monarchy
Area237629 sq km
Population5713000 (March 2013 est.)
Time zoneUTC+10 (AEST), UTC+11 (AEDT)
Places to VisitSovereign Hill, Central Deborah Gold Mine, Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre, Puffing Billy Steam Railway, Phillip Island Nature Park, Otway Fly Treetop Adventures, Healesville Sanctuary, Flagstaff Hill Maritime Village & Shipwrecked Sound and Laser Show, Werribee Mansion, Federation Square, Queen Victoria Market, Melbourne Cricket Ground, National Gallery of Victoria, Scienceworks, Melbourne Zoo, Melbourne Aquarium, Eureka Skydeck 88, Old Melbourne Gaol, Crown Entertainment Complex, Werribee Open Range Zoo, Melbourne Museum

Victoria is an Australian state located in the south-eastern part of the country. It is bordered by New South Wales to the north, South Australia to the west, and Tasmania on Boundary Islet to the south.

Covering a total area of 91,749 square miles, Victoria is the smallest Australian state. The population in the state is dense; according to the 2010 census, the state is home to 5,547,527 people.

Melbourne is the state capital and also the largest city; it has an estimated population of 4,077,036. Melbourne is known as the "cultural capital of Australia", as Australian television, Australian film, and other cultural institutions of the state originated in the city.

Before Victoria became a state, it was inhabited by indigenous tribes. In 1850, Victoria was established as a colony in 1856, responsible government was granted to the state. Finally, in 1901, statehood was granted to Victoria following a proclamation by Queen Victoria.

The government of Victoria functions in the framework of a constitutional monarchy.

The second-largest economy in Australia, Victoria relies on finance, insurance and property services. Agriculture, mining, and manufacturing are the other major industries.

Owing to its geographical location, Victoria is a famous tourist destination. Sone of the major tourist destinations include: Melbourne Zoo, Melbourne Museum, Bellarine Peninsula, Yarra Valley, the Buchan Caves, Healesville Sanctuary, and the Melbourne Aquarium.

  Local government areas of Victoria  
NameCouncil SeatRegionArea (sq km)Polulation
Shire of YarriambiackWarracknabealWimmera73107088
City of YarraRichmondGreater Melbourne (Inner Melbourne)2074090
Shire of Yarra RangesLilydaleGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)2469.9144541
City of WyndhamWerribeeGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)541.6161575
City of WodongaWodongaNortheast43335519
City of WhittleseaSouth MorangGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)489.9154880
City of WhitehorseBox HillGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)64151334
Shire of West WimmeraEdenhopeWimmera91074251
Shire of WellingtonSaleGippsland1098941440
City of WarrnamboolWarrnamboolWestern District12032029
Rural City of WangarattaWangarattaNortheast376426815
Shire of TowongTallangattaNortheast66735891
Rural City of Swan HillSwan HillThe Mallee610320449
Surf Coast ShireTorquaySouthwest156025870
Shire of StrathbogieEuroaGoulburn Valley33029486
City of StonningtonMalvernGreater Melbourne (Inner Melbourne)25.693145
Shire of Southern GrampiansHamiltonWestern District665216359
South Gippsland ShireLeongathaGippsland330527208
Borough of QueenscliffeQueenscliffSouthwest8.63000
Pyrenees ShireBeaufortWestern District34336669
City of Port PhillipSt KildaGreater Melbourne (Inner Melbourne)20.791372
Shire of Northern GrampiansStawellWimmera591811845
Shire of NillumbikElthamGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)43560342
Shire of MurrindindiAlexandraNortheast388913058
Shire of MoynePort FairyWestern District547815955
Mount Stirling Alpine ResortUnincorporated AreaNortheast280
Mount Hotham Alpine ResortUnincorporated AreaNortheast29161
Mount Buller Alpine ResortUnincorporated AreaNortheast23242
Mount Baw Baw Alpine ResortUnincorporated AreaGippsland422
Shire of Mount AlexanderCastlemaineCentral Highlands and Goldfields152917591
Shire of Mornington PeninsulaRosebudGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)723.1144608
City of MorelandCoburgGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)51147241
Shire of MooraboolBallanCentral Highlands and Goldfields211028124
City of Moonee ValleyMoonee PondsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)44107443
City of MonashGlen WaverleyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)81.5169280
Shire of MoiraCobramGoulburn Valley407828124
Shire of MitchellBroadfordCentral Highlands and Goldfields286234637
Rural City of MilduraMilduraThe Mallee2221450979
City of MeltonMeltonGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)527.3109259
City of MelbourneMelbourneGreater Melbourne (Inner Melbourne)37.493625
City of MaroondahRIngwood EastGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)61.4103839
City of MaribyrnongFootscrayGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)31.271635
Shire of MansfieldMansfieldNortheast38927893
City of ManninghamDoncasterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)113111300
Shire of Macedon RangesKynetonCentral Highlands and Goldfields174741860
Shire of LoddonWedderburnCentral Highlands and Goldfields66947459
City of LatrobeMorwellGippsland142272396
Lake Mountain Alpine ResortUnincorporated AreaNortheast40
City of KnoxWantirna SouthGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)113.8149300
City of KingstonCheltenhamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)91142425
Shire of IndigoBeechworthNortheast204415178
City of HumeBroadmeadowsGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)503167562
Rural City of HorshamHorshamWimmera423919279
City of Hobsons BayAltonaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)6583863
Shire of HindmarshNhillWimmera75275798
Shire of HepburnDaylesfordCentral Highlands and Goldfields147014367
City of Greater SheppartonSheppartonGoulburn Valley242060449
City of Greater GeelongGeelongSouthwest1240210875
City of Greater DandenongDandenongGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)130135605
City of Greater BendigoBendigoCentral Highlands and Goldfields3048100617
Golden Plains ShireBannockburnSouthwest270418770
Shire of GlenelgPortlandWestern District621319575
City of Glen EiraCaulfield NorthGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)38.7131013
Shire of GannawarraKerangThe Mallee373210366
City of FrankstonFrankstonGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)131126458
Falls Creek Alpine ResortUnincorporated AreaNortheast16225
Shire of East GippslandBairnsdaleGippsland2093142196
City of DarebinPrestonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)53136474
Corangamite ShireCamperdownWestern District440416376
Colac Otway ShireColacSouthwest343320345
Shire of Central GoldfieldsMaryboroughCentral Highlands and Goldfields153412496
City of CaseyNarre WarrenGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)409.9252382
Shire of CardiniaPakenhamGreater Melbourne (Outer Metropolitan)1280.674176
Shire of CampaspeEchucaGoulburn Valley451736365
Shire of BulokeWycheproofThe Mallee80046384
City of BrimbankSunshineGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)123.3182735
City of BoroondaraCamberwellGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)60159184
Rural City of BenallaBenallaNortheast2350.5913647
City of BaysideSandringhamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)3691814
Shire of Baw BawWarragulGippsland403142864
Bass Coast ShireWonthaggiGippsland85929614
City of BanyuleIvanhoeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan)62.5118306
City of BallaratBallaratCentral Highlands and Goldfields74093501
Rural City of AraratAraratWestern District423011183
Alpine ShireBrightNortheast500511881

Last Updated On : September 07, 2016

For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  +1 408 637 0064