Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Select Country Flag

Macau Flag

The flag of Macau uses the base color as green. On this is shown floating a white lotus, and the water is also shown in white.

Macao Flag

Flag of Macau

Colors Green, White, Golden
Proportion 2:3

The lotus has five golden stars covering its top in an arc.

Macau is currently an special administrative zone of China's. Before this, it was under Portuguese rule and so the Portuguese flag was used.

The current design was finalized and adopted in 1999, which was when the island was handed over to China.

National symbol(s):lotus blossom

National colors: green, white, yellow

National anthem:
note: as a Special Administrative Region of China, "Yiyongjun Jinxingqu" is the official anthem (see China)

Fact about Macau flag

Designed byNA
AdoptedApproved on 31 March 1993 by National People's Congress, used on 20 December 1999
Design and ColorsLight green with a lotus flower above the stylised Governor Nobre de Carvalho Bridge and water in white, beneath an arc of five gold, five-pointed stars
Size Ratio2:3

Last Updated On : August 28th, 2017

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with us at