Who are the Female Nobel Laureates?

Questions answered : 1428||Last updated on : March 31st, 2020 At 12:46am (ET)
Answers » World » Who are the Female Nobel Laureates?

Who are the Female Nobel Laureates?

Infographic Giving Details on Women Nobel Prize Winners
Infographic Showing Some Noticeable Female Nobel Laureates

The Nobel Prize is a set of awards presented to individuals or organizations for outstanding contributions in the fields of chemistry, physics, physiology or medicine, economic sciences, literature, and peace. The most prestigious awards in the world, The Nobel Prize was initiated in 1901 and since then the prize has been awarded 595 times to 935 individuals or organizations.

Women have made major contributions to society and have been credited with major breakthroughs in science & technology and other fields. As of 2018, 51 women have won Nobel Prize. Of the six Nobel Prize categories, women have won the maximum awards in the field of peace. The Nobel Peace Prize has seen 17 women bagging the award. This is followed by Nobel Prize in Literature, which has been won by 14 women. 12 women have bagged the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. Meanwhile, five have bagged the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, three have Nobel Prize in Physics and one have Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Marie Skłodowska Curie was the first female to win the Nobel Prize. She bagged the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1903 and shared the award with Henri Becquerel and Pierre Curie. A Polish and naturalized-French physicist and chemist, Marie Curie is known for her extraordinary work on radioactivity. Marie Curie also won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1911 for her discovery of radium and polonium. Irène Joliot-Curie, daughter of Marie Curie, followed in her mother’s footsteps and won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1935. Incidentally, this is the only mother-daughter pair in the history of the Nobel Prize to have bagged the award.

Bertha von Suttner was the first female to have bagged the Nobel Peace Prize. A pacifist, novelist and the Honorary President of the Bern-based Permanent International Peace Bureau, Suttner bagged the award in 1905. Selma Lagerlöf of Sweden, who got the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1909, was the first female to get the award in the field of literature. In 1947, Gerty Theresa Cori of the United States became the first female to win the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine.

The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences was established in 1968 and first awarded in 1969. Elinor Ostrom of the United States is the only woman to have won this award. She received the award along with Oliver E. Williamson in 2009 for her analysis of economic governance.

Below is The List of Women who have won Nobel Prize:

S.No. Year Laureate Country Category
1 1903 Marie Skłodowska Curie Poland and France Physics
2 1905 Bertha von Suttner Austria–Hungary Peace
3 1909 Selma Lagerlöf Sweden Literature
4 1911 Marie Skłodowska Curie Poland and France Chemistry
5 1926 Grazia Deledda Italy Literature
6 1928 Sigrid Undset Norway Literature
7 1931 Jane Addams United States Peace
8 1935 Irène Joliot-Curie France Chemistry
9 1938 Pearl S. Buck United States Literature
10 1945 Gabriela Mistral Chile Literature
11 1946 Emily Greene Balch United States Peace
12 1947 Gerty Theresa Cori United States Physiology or Medicine
13 1963 Maria Goeppert-Mayer United States Physics
14 1964 Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin United Kingdom Chemistry
15 1966 Nelly Sachs Sweden and Germany Literature
16 1976 Betty Williams United Kingdom Peace
17 1976 Mairead Maguire United Kingdom Peace
18 1977 Rosalyn Sussman Yalow United States Physiology or Medicine
19 1979 Mother Teresa India and Yugoslavia Peace
20 1982 Alva Myrdal Sweden Peace
21 1983 Barbara McClintock United States Physiology or Medicine
22 1986 Rita Levi-Montalcini Italy and United States Physiology or Medicine
23 1988 Gertrude B. Elion United States Physiology or Medicine
24 1991 Nadine Gordimer South Africa Literature
25 1991 Aung San Suu Kyi Burma Peace
26 1992 Rigoberta Menchú Guatemala Peace
27 1993 Toni Morrison United States Literature
28 1995 Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard Germany Physiology or Medicine
29 1996 Wisława Szymborska Poland Literature
30 1997 Jody Williams United States Peace
31 2003 Shirin Ebadi Iran Peace
32 2004 Elfriede Jelinek Austria Literature
33 2004 Wangari Maathai Kenya Peace
34 2004 Linda B. Buck United States Physiology or Medicine
35 2007 Doris Lessing United Kingdom Literature
36 2008 Françoise Barré-Sinoussi France Physiology or Medicine
37 2009 Elizabeth Blackburn Australia and United States Physiology or Medicine
38 2009 Carol W. Greider United States Physiology or Medicine
39 2009 Ada E. Yonath Israel Chemistry
40 2009 Herta Müller Germany and Romania Literature
41 2009 Elinor Ostrom United States Economics
42 2011 Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Liberia Peace
43 2011 Leymah Gbowee Liberia Peace
44 2011 Tawakel Karman Yemen Peace
45 2013 Alice Munro Canada Literature
46 2014 May-Britt Moser Norway Physiology or Medicine
47 2014 Malala Yousafzai Pakistan Peace
48 2015 Tu Youyou China Physiology or Medicine
49 2015 Svetlana Alexievich Belarus Literature
50 2018 Donna Strickland Canada Physics
51 2018 Frances Arnold United States Chemistry
52 2018 Nadia Murad Iraq Peace

*Marie Curie won the Noble Prize twice in 1903 and 1911.

Related Links:

Related Map:
World Map
World Map

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."