Which were the 13 Colonies of the United States?| 13 Original States

Answers » United States » Which were the Original 13 Colonies of the United States?

Which were the Original 13 Colonies of the United States?

3.8/5 - (57 votes)
3.8/5 - (57 votes)
Map Highlighting 13 Original Colonies of the United States
Map depicting 13 original colonies of the United States

13 Original States

The 13 colonies, represented by the 13 stripes in the US flag, were the British colonies that rose in revolt against the British and declared their independence, thus giving birth to a new country – the United States of America. These colonies – New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia – together went on to form the United States.

By the time the British Empire established its very first colony in North America, other Europeans including the Dutch, the French, and the Spanish had already settled their colonies in the continent. The British colonies crystallized from the smaller divisions and territories which were previously existing and out of these, the 13 original colonies were all located along the Atlantic (eastern) coast. They were divided into 3 regions – New England Colonies, Middle Colonies, and Southern Colonies.

Here is a snapshot of the 13 Original States:

Region Colony Year Founded
New England Colonies Province of New Hampshire 1623
Province of Massachusetts Bay 1620 (Plymouth Colony) & 1630 (Massachusetts Bay Colony)
Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 1636
Connecticut Colony 1635
Middle Colonies Province of New York 1664
Province of New Jersey 1664
Province of Pennsylvania 1682
Delaware Colony 1638
Southern Colonies Province of Maryland 1634
Colony and Dominion of Virginia 1607
Province of North Carolina 1653
Province of South Carolina 1663
Province of Georgia 1732

Most of the colonies (except for Georgia), were thus established in the 1600s. By 1700, the population of these 13 colonies consisted of Europeans, Africans, and Native Americans and was estimated to be well over 250,000. However, the British policy of mercantilism ensured that the people who labored hard rarely benefited from their efforts. This happened because much of the wealth made in the colonies were used for the upkeep of the Crown’s resources. Mounting taxes were another issue in the colonies. By 1775, the American Revolution broke out. The Second Continental Congress formed by these thirteen colonies adopted the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776. This declaration marked the formation of the USA.

Related Links:

Recent Posts
"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."