US Map > Thematic Maps > United States Mountain Ranges Map

United States Mountain Ranges Map

by poonam bisht

The map shows the various mountain ranges like Absaroka Range in Montana and Wyoming, San Juan Mountains in Colorado, Boston Mountains in Arkansas and many more in USA.

Where is USA

The United States has a varied landscape with many mountain ranges and other geographical features. Major mountain ranges in the United States are the Appalachian Mountains, the Rocky Mountains, the Alaska Range, the Cascades, and the Sierra Nevadas. These ranges are further divided into smaller subranges and ridges.

At 6,194 meters (20,320 feet) above sea level, Mount McKinley in Alaska is the tallest mountain peak in the US.

Mount Logan is the second tallest, at 5,959 meters (19,545 feet), followed by Mount Orizaba, Mount St. Elias, and Mount Popocatepetl.

The tallest mountain peak in the contiguous United States is Mount Whitney which stands at 4421 meters (14,505 feet).

Here are the major mountain ranges in the US −

  • Rocky Mountains :

    The Rockies are a major mountain range in North America, running 3,000 miles from western Canada to the state of New Mexico. The Rockies include several subranges, including the Wasatch, Bitterroots, Big Horn, and Front Ranges. Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming are considered Mountain States in the country.

  • Appalachian Mountains :

    The Appalachian Mountain Range straddle the eastern United States, stretching from Alabama, northeast across New England, and extending further up to Canada. The range is about 1,500 miles long, and traverses the US states of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Alabama. The Appalachian Range also usually includes the Blue Ridge Mountains, Great Smoky Mountains, and Allegheny Mountains.

  • Cascades :

    The Cascade Range along the West Coast of the United States extend from Canada into the US states of Washington, Oregon, and California. These mountains were formed as part of the Pacific Ring of Fire, and feature volcanoes such as Mount St. Helens and Lassen.

  • Sierra Nevada :

    The Sierra Nevada mountains, located in the western states of California and Nevada, are about 400 miles long. The name Sierra Nevada is Spanish for “snowy mountains,” referring to the snow-capped summits. Many of the mountains are formed of granite and shaped by glaciers.


Mountain Ranges in the US

Summit State Quadrangle2 Date Elevation(feet)
Churchhill Peaks AK Mount McKinley A-3 1954 20,320
North Peak AK Mount McKinley A-3 1954 19,470
South Peak AK Mount McKinley A-3 1954 20,320
Mount St. Elias AK Mount St. Elias B-8 1985 18,008
Mount Foraker AK Talkeetna D-3 1958 17,400
Mount Bona AK McCarthy B-2 1959 16,500
Mount Blackburn AK McCarthy C-7 1959 16,390
Mount Sanford AK Gulkana A-1 1959 16,237
Mount Vancouver AK Mount St. Elias A-2 1985 15,979
South Buttress AK Mount McKinley A-2 1954 15,885
Mount Churchill AK McCarthy B-2 1959 15,638
Mount Fairweather AK Mount Fairweather D-5 1961 15,300
Mount Hubbard AK Mount St. Elias B-3 1985 14,950
Mount Bear AK McCarthy B-1 1959 14,831
East Buttress AK Mount McKinley A-2 1954 14,730
Mount Hunter AK Talkeetna D-3 1958 14,573
Browne Tower AK Mount McKinley A-2 1954 14,530
Mount Alverstone AK Mount St. Elias B-3 1985 14,500
Mount Whitney CA Mount Whitney 1985 114,494
University Peak AK McCarthy B-3 1959 14,470
Mount Elbert CO Mount Elbert 1967 114,433
Mount Massive CO Mount Massive 1967 14,421
Mount Harvard CO Mount Harvard 1982 14,420
Mount Rainier WA Mount Rainier West 1971 14,410
Mount Williamson CA Mount Williamson 1984 14,370
La Plata Peak CO Mount Elbert 1967 14,361
Blanca Peak CO Blanca Peak 1967 14,345
Uncompahgre Peak CO Uncompahgre Peak 1963 14,309
Crestone Peak CO Crestone Peak 1967 14,294
Mount Lincoln CO Alma 1970 14,286
Grays Peak CO Grays Peak 1958 14,270
Mount Antero CO Mount Antero 1983 14,269
Torreys Peak CO Grays Peak 1958 14,267
Castle Peak CO Hayden Peak 1960 14,265
Quandary Peak CO Breckenridge 1970 14,265
Mount Evans CO Mount Evans 1957 14,264
Longs Peak CO Longs Peak 1961 14,255
Mount Wilson CO Mount Wilson 1953 14,246
White Mount Peak CA White Mount Peak (15′) 1962 14,246
North Palisade CA North Palisade 1982 14,242
Mount Cameron CO Alma 1970 14,238
Mount Shavano CO Maysville 1983 14,229
Mount Belford CO Mount Harvard 1982 14,197
Mount Princeton CO Mount Antero 1982 14,197
Crestone Needle CO Crestone Peak 1967 14,197
Mount Yale CO Mount Harvard 1982 14,196
Mount Bross CO Alma 1970 14,172
Kit Carson Mountain CO Crestone Peak 1967 14,165
Mount Wrangell AK Gulkana A-1 1959 14,163
Mount Shasta CA Shasta 1986 14,162
El Diente Peak CO Dolores Peak 1953 14,159
Point Success WA Mount Rainier West 1971 14,158
Maroon Peak CO Maroon Bells 1960 14,156
Tabeguache Peak CO St. Elmo 1982 14,155
Mount Oxford CO Mount Harvard 1982 14,153
Mount Sill CA North Palisade 1982 14,153
Mount Sneffels CO Mount Sneffels 1967 14,150
Mount Democrat CO Climax 1970 14,148
Capitol Peak CO Capitol Peak 1960 14,130
Liberty Cap WA Mount Rainier West 1971 14,112
Pikes Peak CO Pikes Peak 1951 14,110
Snowmass Mountain CO Snowmass Mountain 1960 14,092
Mount Russell CA Mount Whitney 1985 14,088
Mount Eolus CO Mount Whitney 1985 14,083
Windom Peak CO Columbine Pass 1973 14,082
Mount Columbia CO Mount Harvard 1982 14,073
Mount Augusta AK Mount St. Elias 1985 14,070
Missouri Mountain CO Winfield 1982 14,067
Humboldt Peak CO Crestone Peak 1967 14,064
Mount Bierstadt CO Mount Evans 1957 14,060
Sunlight Peak CO Storm King Peak 1964 14,059
Split Mountain CA Split Mountain 1984 14,058
Handies Peak CO Handies Peak 1955 14,048
Culebra Peak CO Culebra Peak 1955 14,047
Mount Lindsey CO Blanca Peak 1967 14,042
Ellingwood Point CO Blanca Peak 1967 14,042
Little Bear Peak CO Blanca Peak 1967 14,037
Mount Sherman CO Mount Sherman 1961 14,036
Redcloud Peak CO Redcloud Peak 1964 14,034
Mount Langley CA Mount Langley 1982 14,026
Conundrum Peak CO Hayden Peak 1960 14,022
Mount Tyndall CA Mount Williamson 1984 14,019
Pyramid Peak CO Maroon Bells 1960 14,018
Wilson Peak CO Mount Wilson 1953 14,017
Wetterhorn Peak CO Wetterhorn Peak 1963 14,015
North Maroon Peak CO Maroon Bells 1960 14,014
San Luis Peak CO San Luis Peak 1986 14,014
Mount Muir CA Mount Whitney 1985 14,012
Middle Palisade CA Split Mountain 1984 14,012
Mount of the Holy Cross CO Mount of the Holy Cross 1970 14,005
Huron Peak CO Winfield 1982 14,003
Thunderbolt Peak CA North Palisade 1982 14,003
Sunshine Peak CO Redcloud Peak 1964 14,001

Source:  National Geodetic Survey

Related Maps