Map of New York City Boroughs

New York City Map
Description: New York City map showing 5 boroughs with tourist places, highways, hospitals, shopping malls, museums, monuments, etc. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Boroughs of New York City

Fondly known as 'The Big Apple', the city of New York comprises five boroughs which include: Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn, Staten Island, and the Bronx. These five boroughs of New York City were formed in 1898. Each borough has a coextensive boundary as a county in New York State. New York (Manhattan), Kings (Brooklyn), Bronx, and Queens are four most densely populated counties in the United States. The term “outer boroughs” refers to other four boroughs in NYC excluding Manhattan.

BoroughCountyArea (sq. miles)Population
ManhattanNew York231,636,268
Staten IslandRichmond58473,279
The BronxBronx 421,438,159


Though geographically the smallest, it is the most densely populated borough of NYC. In fact, it has a higher density than any individual city in America. Manhattan is home to Central Park, Greenwich Village, Empire State Building, and other famous skyscrapers. The borough is divided into three regions: Lower, Midtown, and Uptown.

It is the cultural, administrative, and economic center of not only New York City but the world and houses the United Nations Headquarters and the Wall Street.


Queen is the largest borough in NYC by area and also the most ethnically diverse urban area in the world. It is home of the baseball stadium of the New York Mets and hosts the annual U.S. Open. The John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) and LaGuardia Airport (LGA) are located in the borough of Queens.

Moreover, it's a major center of jazz music and African-American culture. Major attractions in Queens are the Unisphere, Kaufman Astoria Studios, Silvercup Studios, and Aqueduct Racetrack.


Brooklyn is the most populous borough in NYC. It is known for its cultural diversity, an independent art scene, distinct neighborhoods, and a legendary architectural heritage. Since the late 20th century, Brooklyn has gone through a renaissance as an avant garde subcultural destination. 19th-century brownstones along Kent Street and McCarren Park are major points of interest in Brooklyn.

The Bronx

It is the only borough in New York City that is situated on the mainland United States. The Bronx is the location of Yankee Stadium of the New York Yankees, the Bronx Zoo (the world's largest metropolitan zoo), and Pelham Bay Park is the largest park in New York. The Bronx is often regarded as the birthplace of rap and hip hop culture.

Staten Island

Most suburban in character of all the five boroughs, it is the southernmost borough in New York. One of the largest natural forests in New York city limits, the Staten Island Greenbelt spans roughly 2,500 acres and features 28 miles of walking trails. It is the only borough not served by the New York City Subway system. However, the free Staten Island Ferry allows unobstructed views of the famous Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, and Manhattan skyline.

Last Updated on: February 24, 2020