New York Metropolitan Area Map

New York Metropolitan Area

The area comprises the largest city in the US, New York City; Long Island and the Lower Hudson Valley. Home of the 23.8 million people, it is the most populous metropolitan area in the United States and in North America. The NY metropolitan area also includes the largest city in New Jersey (Newark), the largest city in Connecticut (Bridgeport), five counties in northeastern Pennsylvania, and their vicinities.

Since the immigration to the US in early 20th century, New York is home to the largest foreign-born population of any metropolitan area in the world. Spanning an area of 13,318 square miles, it's a geographically and ethnically diverse region. The area is a world leader in finance, international trade, real estate, fashion, and tourism.

The region is home to Yale University, Princeton University, Columbia University, New York University, and Rockefeller University.

Sub-regions of New York Metropolitan Area
  • New York City
  • Central and Eastern Long Island
  • North Jersey
  • Central Jersey
  • Hudson Valley
  • Western Connecticut
  • Lehigh Valley
  • Southern and Eastern Poconos

Major Cities in New York Metropolitan Area
  • New York City (Brooklyn, Queens, Manhattan, The Bronx, Staten Island)
  • Newark
  • Jersey City
  • Yonkers
  • Paterson
  • Bridgeport
  • Elizabeth
  • Stamford
  • New Haven
  • Allentown
  • Waterbury
  • Edison
  • Woodbridge
  • Norwalk
  • Trenton
  • Danbury
  • New Rochelle
  • Mount Vernon
  • White Plains
  • Passaic

Getting In and Around
The metropolitan area is served by three international airports: John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), and LaGuardia Airport (LGA).

The New York City subway, commuter rails, and Amtrak routes operate through the region.

I-78, I-80, I-84, I-87, I-91, and I-95 are major interstate highways traversing the metropolitan area.

Last Updated on: May 23, 2017