Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Maps / Honduras Map / Political Map of Honduras

Political Map of Honduras

Political Map of Honduras Tegucigalpa City BELIZE GUATEMALA EL SALVADOR NICARAGUA Atlantida Cortes Yoro Colon Gracias-a-Dios Olancho El Paraiso Francisco Morazan Choluteca Valle La Paz Comayagua Intibuca Lempira Ocotepeque Copan Santa Barbara
Description : Honduras Political map showing the international boundary, departments boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

Honduras political map is helpful for all, who are interested to know about the country. The map features in detail the departmental divisions, the national capital, departmental capitals and the important cities.

Honduras political map clearly shows the country's capital, important cities, departmental boundaries and their capitals. The departmental boundaries are distinctly differentiated from each other by a violet line featuring the departmental capitals with green squares. The black dots on the Honduras map represent important cities, which are located across the country. A black bold line outlines the international boundary of the country. Web surfers can also see the neighboring countries on the online political map of Honduras.

Geographical Extent of Honduras

The latitudinal and longitudinal extents of Honduras are 15° north and 86° 30' West respectively. The country stands in Central America, bordering Nicaragua, El Salvador and Guatemala as shown in the map of Honduras. Caribbean Sea lies in the northern part of the country. Honduras is spread over an area of 112, 090 square kilometers. The total area is divided between the land area covering about 111,890 square kilometers and water bodies covering about 200 square kilometers. The coastline of Honduras is marked with a black bold line stretching over an area of 820 kilometers.

Caribbean Sea is the lowest point and the highest point is Cerro las Minas situated 2,870 meters above sea level.

Departmental Boundaries

  • La Paz
  • Islas de la Bahía
  • Gracias a Dios
  • Ocotepeque
  • Valle
  • Intibucá
  • Colón
  • Lempira
  • Copán
  • Santa Bárbara
  • Atlántida
  • El Paraíso
  • Comayagua
  • Choluteca
  • Olancho
  • Yoro
  • Francisco Morazán
  • Cortés

Some of the departmental capitals as marked with green squares on the printable map of Honduras. These capitals are la Ceiba, San Pedro Sula, Yoro, Juticalpa, La, La Paz, La Esperanza, Neuva Dcotepeque, Yuscaran, Nacaome, Choluteca and Gracias.

Important cities of Honduras
The important cities are marked with black dots on the Honduras political map. Some of the cities are Cedros, Auastila, Leirnus, Catacamas, Sabana Grande, Nueva Arcadia, Salama, Pueble Viejo, Balfate, San Esteban and El Progresso.

Capital of Honduras
The capital city of Honduras is Tegucigalpa, situated at an altitude of 980 meters. Web surfers can easily point out the capital by the red star used to mark the capital city. The latitudinal and longitudinal extent of the city is 14° 5' 60'' North and 87° 13' West respectively. Some of the neighboring cities are:
  • Cienega
  • La Cuesta
  • La Granja
  • La Loma
  • Sabana Grande
  • El Prado
  • Las Crucitas
  • La Soledad
  • Buenos Aires
  • Comayaguela
The city also towers some of the airports of the country. They are Toncontin Inetrnational, Tamarindo, Los Comandos and Coronel Enrique Soto Cano.

Locations in the Map
Copan, Dcotepeque, Lempira, Santa Barbara, Intibuca, Comayagua, Yoro, La Paz, Colon, Olancho, Francisco Morazan, El Paraiso, Valle, Choluteca, Gracias A Dios.



Santa Rosa De Copan, Nuiva Dcotepeque, Gracias, Santa Barbara, San Pedro Sula, La Esperanza, Yoro, La Ceiba, Comayagua, La Paz, Tegucigalpa, Nacaome, Choliuteca, Yuscaran, Juticalpa, Trujillo, Puerto Lempira.


Nueva Arcadia, El Progresso, Santa Rita, San Lorenzo, Olanchino, Cedros, Sabana Grande, Salama, Pueble Viejo, San Esteban, Catacamas, Tocoa, Balfate, Auastila, Leimus.

NEIGHBOUR COUNTRIES/ISLANDS    Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Belize.

OCEANS, SEAS, RIVER, BAYS AND CANALS    Caribbean Sea, Pacific Ocean.

Atlantida344,0994,2511,641La Ceiba
Copan288,7663,2031,237Santa Rosa (de Copan)
Cortes1,202,5103,9541,527San Pedro Sula
El Paraiso350,0547,2182,787Yuscaran
Francisco Morazan1,180,6767,9463,068Tegucigalpa
Gracias a Dios67,38416,6306,421Puerto Lempira
Intibuca179,8623,0721,186La Esperanza
Islas de la Bahia38,073261101Roatan
La Paz156,5602,331900La Paz
Ocotepeque108,0291,680649Nueva Ocotepeque
Santa Barbara342,0545,1151,975Santa Barbara
18 departments6,535,344112,08843,278

Note  : - Population: 2001-07-28 census.

Last Updated On : November 15, 2012

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  (408) 637-0064