What is Eurasia? Where it is?

Answers » Geography » What is Eurasia?

What is Eurasia?

4.7/5 - (7 votes)
4.7/5 - (7 votes)
What is Eurasia? - Europe and Asia
Map of Eurasia

Geographers follow specific criteria to determine what qualifies as a continent. A primary rule is whether a landmass resides on its distinct section of the Earth’s crust, known as a tectonic plate. By this standard, Eurasia would be regarded as a single continent.  In this article, we’ll explore What is Eurasia, where it is, interesting facts, and more.


Eurasia is a huge landmass that includes both Europe and Asia. Many people live there, with a variety of cultures, languages, and religions. Some of the world’s greatest ancient civilizations, like Mesopotamia, the Indus Valley, Ancient China, Ancient Greece, and Rome, started in Eurasia. This diversity and connection make Eurasia important in history and today’s world.

Eurasia covers 55 million square kilometers, making up 36% of the world’s land area. It includes both the mainland and many islands, like the United Kingdom, the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia.

Eurasia has many different ecosystems and landforms. It has the Gobi Desert, the Himalayas, the European Plain, and the Mediterranean Coast. It also has cold areas in Siberia and warm beaches along the Indian Ocean. Because of this, Eurasia has almost all types of climates.

The variety of climates and habitats in Eurasia means it is home to many animals. Some important animals are the Siberian tiger and Amur leopard in Russia, the giant panda in China, and the snow leopard in Central and South Asia. The European bison lives in Poland and Belarus, and the Asian elephant lives in Southeast Asia. Other common animals include the brown bear, red fox, saiga antelope, and yak.

Where is Eurasia?

Eurasia is in the Northern Hemisphere and includes Europe and Asia. It stretches from the Atlantic Ocean in the west to the Pacific Ocean in the east. The Arctic Ocean is to the north, and the Indian Ocean is to the south.

The border between Europe and Asia runs along the Ural Mountains and Ural River, through the Caspian Sea, and across the Caucasus Mountains. Eurasia includes many countries, such as France and Germany in the west and China and Japan in the east. Eurasia’s geographical coordinates are 45.4507° N, and 68.8319° E.

Countries in Eurasia

Following is the list of countries organized by their continental region within Eurasia:

Countries in Europe

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Armenia
  4. Austria
  5. Azerbaijan
  6. Belarus
  7. Belgium
  8. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  9. Bulgaria
  10. Croatia
  11. Cyprus
  12. Czech Republic
  13. Denmark
  14. Estonia
  15. Finland
  16. France
  17. Georgia
  18. Germany
  19. Greece
  20. Hungary
  21. Iceland
  22. Ireland
  23. Italy
  24. Kazakhstan (partly in Europe)
  25. Kosovo
  26. Latvia
  27. Liechtenstein
  28. Lithuania
  29. Luxembourg
  30. Malta
  31. Moldova
  32. Monaco
  33. Montenegro
  34. Netherlands
  35. North Macedonia
  36. Norway
  37. Poland
  38. Portugal
  39. Romania
  40. Russia (partly in Europe)
  41. San Marino
  42. Serbia
  43. Slovakia
  44. Slovenia
  45. Spain
  46. Sweden
  47. Switzerland
  48. Turkey (partly in Europe)
  49. Ukraine
  50. United Kingdom
  51. Vatican City

Countries in Asia

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Armenia (considered transcontinental)
  3. Azerbaijan (considered transcontinental)
  4. Bahrain
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Bhutan
  7. Brunei
  8. Cambodia
  9. China
  10. Cyprus (often considered culturally European)
  11. Georgia (considered transcontinental)
  12. India
  13. Indonesia (partly in Asia)
  14. Iran
  15. Iraq
  16. Israel
  17. Japan
  18. Jordan
  19. Kazakhstan (considered transcontinental)
  20. Kuwait
  21. Kyrgyzstan
  22. Laos
  23. Lebanon
  24. Malaysia (partly in Asia)
  25. Maldives
  26. Mongolia
  27. Myanmar
  28. Nepal
  29. North Korea
  30. Oman
  31. Pakistan
  32. Palestine
  33. Philippines
  34. Qatar
  35. Russia (partly in Asia)
  36. Saudi Arabia
  37. Singapore
  38. South Korea
  39. Sri Lanka
  40. Syria
  41. Tajikistan
  42. Thailand
  43. Timor-Leste
  44. Turkey (considered transcontinental)
  45. Turkmenistan
  46. United Arab Emirates
  47. Uzbekistan
  48. Vietnam
  49. Yemen

Interesting Facts About Eurasia

  •  Eurasia includes both, the highest point on Earth, Mount Everest (8,848 meters or 29,029 feet), and the lowest point on land, the shore of the Dead Sea (-430 meters or -1,411 feet).
  • It has the longest combined coastline of any landmass, touching the Arctic, Atlantic, Indian, and Pacific Oceans.
  • Eurasia includes the two most populous countries in the world, China and India, which together, account for about 36% of the global population.
  • The Siberian taiga is the largest forested area in the world, covering much of northern Russia and parts of Kazakhstan, Mongolia, and China.
  • It includes several of the world’s largest economies, such as those of, China, Japan, Germany, Russia, and India.

Related Links

Recent Posts