Political Map of Australian Continent

The Australia Political Map shows the various regions comprising the continent. Australia itself is divided into six territories, the largest of which is Western Australia.

Australia Continent Political Map
Description:Map showing the national capitals, international boundaries of various countries of Australia Continent. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Covering an area of 3,269,000 square miles, Australia is the smallest continent in the world.

The Australia Continent Political Map shows the major cities, states and their capitals, islands and other political divisions of the continent.

The geological and geo-political information about the continent of Australia have never been accurate and hence there have been major disputes regarding the political divisions of the continent.

Generally it is considered that the Australian continent comprises the mainland of Australia and proximate islands including Tasmania, New Guinea, the Aru Islands and Raja Ampat Islands. Parts of Indonesia also make up the continent.

The continent of Australia is geo-politically termed as Oceania by the United Nations. Historicall, the region was called Australasia and it included Australia, New Zealand and sometimes Papua New Guinea. If geologically considered, New Zealand does not form part of the Australian continent.

The Commonwealth of Australia has six states - New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia and two major territories - the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory.

Canberra, the national capital is shown clearly in the map. As the seat of the government of Australia, Canberra is the site of Parliament House, the High Court and numerous government departments and agencies.

Sydney is the largest and most populous city in Australia and the state capital of New South Wales. It is an international center for commerce, arts, fashion, culture, entertainment, music, education and tourism.

Australia is a federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy. Tony Abbot is the current Prime Minister of the country while Elizabeth II is the ruling Monarch.

Australian Capital Territory323,6652,365913Canberra
Jervis Bay Territory3696726Canberra
New South Wales6,549,177801,425309,432Sydney
Northern Territory192,8981,356,170523,620Darwin
South Australia1,514,337984,377380,070Adelaide
Western Australia1,959,0882,527,621975,920Perth
Ashmore and Cartier Islands052Darwin
Coral Sea Islands Territory031Kingston
11 divisions19,855,2887,704,3662,974,672
Note:   Population: 2006-08-08 census

Last Updated on: December 12th, 2017