Facts about Denmark

Lat Long56 00 N, 10 00 E
Area43,094 sq km
Population5,581,503 (July 2015 est.)
Largest CityCopenhagen
Official LanguagesDanish
Major ReligionEvangelical Lutheran (official) 80%, Muslim 4%, other (denominations of less than 1% each, includes Roman Catholic, Jehovah's Witness, Serbian Orthodox Christian, Jewish, Baptist, and Buddhist) 16% (2012 est.)
National Day5 June(1849)
Form of GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
PresidentQueen Margrethe II( Monarch)
Prime MinisterLars Lokke Rasmussen
CurrencyDanish krone
GDP$255.866 billion ( 2015 estimate)
Calling Code45
Time ZoneCET (UTC+1) Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)
Internet TLD.dk

Where is Denmark?
infographic of Denmark Facts

click to view full Infographic

Denmark is a Scandinavian country situated in northern Europe. The Kingdom of Denmark comprises Denmark, Greenland, and the Faroe Islands.

What countries border Denmark?
Denmark is the southern-most of the Nordic countries, bordered by Sweden to the south-west, Norway and Germany to the south. The country also borders both the Baltic and the North Sea.

What is the capital of Denmark?
Situated on the islands of Zealand and Amager, Copenhagen is the capital of Denmark. With an urban population of 1,199,224, it is the largest city in the country. It is the major cultural, administrative, and scientific center of Denmark. Copenhagen is one of the most eco-friendly cities in the world.

How big is Denmark?
Denmark covers a total area of 16,641 square miles. According to the 2011 census, the country had an estimated population of 5,564,219.

What are the ethnic groups in Denmark?
Denmark has a homogenous population. Ninety-seven percent of the Danes are ethnic Scandinavians, followed by Inuit, Faroese, and Germans.

What are the administrative divisions of Denmark?
Denmark is divided into five regions and ninety-eight municipalities. The Central Denmark Region is the largest area in the country.

Who are the political leaders of Denmark?
The Kingdom of Denmark is a unitary parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy
Queen - Margrethe II
Prime Minister - Helle Thorning-Schmidt

What is the official currency used in Denmark?
The krone denoted by the ISO 4217 code DKK is the official currency of the Kingdom of Denmark. It has been the national currency since January 1, 1875 and is subdivided into 100 øre. The krone is represented by the symbol kr.

What is the official language of Denmark?
Danish is the official language of Denmark spoken by the majority of the Danes. English and German are also spoken.

What is the official religion of Denmark?
The Constitution of Denmark recognizes Danish National Church as the official state religion. It is a Lutheran Church. Islam and Judaism are also practiced.

What is the economy of Denmark like?
Denmark has the fifth-highest nominal GDP per capita. In 2010, the gross domestic product (nominal) of the country was estimated at $310.760 billion, while the per capita was $56,147. Denmark has large reserves of oil and natural gas and is one of the net exporters of crude oil. Services sector is the largest sector of the Danish economy. Imported raw materials and foreign trade account for the heavy industrialized sector of the country. Tourism is a significant part of the economy with Tivoli Gardens, Lego Land, Hans Christian Andersen's House and Museum, and the Viking Ship Museum being the major attractions. Germany, United States, Sweden, Norway, China, France, and the Netherlands are the major trading partners.

When is the national day of Denmark celebrated?
Denmark does not have a national day, but the country celebrates its Independence Day on June 5. It is known as the Constitution Day because it commemorates the anniversary of the signing of the constitution of 1849 and the constitution of 1953.

Last Updated on: June 27th, 2018