What is the Organization of the Islamic Cooperation? - Answers

Answers » World » What is the Organization of the Islamic Cooperation?

What is the Organization of the Islamic Cooperation?

4.3/5 - (12 votes)
4.3/5 - (12 votes)
Infographic Giving Details About The OIC
Infographic Shows World Map Depicting Countries that are Members of The Organization of Islamic Cooperation

The Organization of Islamic Cooperation, commonly referred to as the OIC, is an international body comprising of Muslim-majority countries in the world. The organization was founded in 1969 with 30 members. Over the years, the organization has witnessed an increase in membership, and today has 57 members countries. As per the organization, it is the collective voice of the Muslim world. The organization aims to protect the interests of the Muslim countries in the spirit of promoting international peace and harmony among the people of the world. Arabic, French and English are the official languages of the OIC.


Following the arson at the Al-Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem on August 21, 1969, an Islamic conference was held in Rabat, Morocco, on September 25, 1969. The conference was attended by the representatives of 24 Muslim-majority countries. The First Islamic Conference was held in March 1970 in Jeddah Saudi Arabia, and at the conference it was decided that a permanent secretariat in Jeddah would be established. The secretariat was to be headed by the secretary general. The current secretary general is Dr. Yousef Ahmed Al-Othaimeen who is a Saudi Arabian politician. The first OIC charter was adopted in 1972, which laid down the objectives and principles of the organization. The current charter was adopted in Dakar on March 13-14, 2018, by the Eleventh Islamic Summit.

Goals of the OIC

The main purpose of the establishment of the organization is to protect and safeguard the interests of the Muslim countries. As per the OIC’s charter, the goals include: Promoting solidarity among member states; advance education, mainly in the science and technology fields; preserving Islamic social and economic values; uphold international peace and security; and increase cooperation in social, economic, cultural, scientific, and political areas. The OIC’s emblem contain three main elements, which are: The Globe, Kaaba, and the Crescent.

Members of the OIC

Currently, the OIC has 57-member countries with a collective population of more than 1.9 billion, as of 2018. Barring Palestine, the rest of the countries are member states of the United Nations. Some OIC members in South America and the western part of Africa may not be Muslim-dominated nations, but have a significant Muslim population. Russia and Thailand have huge Muslim populations and thus have been included as Observer States.

Key bodies of the OIC

The main bodies of the organization are the Council of Foreign Ministers, the General Secretariat, the Islamic Summit, the Al-Quds Committee, and three committees which relate to economy and trade, science and technology, and information and culture. Some of the specialized organs of the OIC are the Islamic Development Bank, the Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, etc.

Below is the list of 57 Countries that are the Members of The OIC:

S.No. Country Year of Joining
1 Afghanistan 1969
2 Albania 1992
3 Algeria 1969
4 Azerbaijan 1992
5 Bahrain 1972
6 Bangladesh 1974
7 Benin 1983
8 Brunei 1984
9 Burkina Faso 1974
10 Cameroon 1974
11 Chad 1969
12 Comoros 1976
13 Djibouti 1978
14 Egypt 1969
15 Gabon 1974
16 Gambia 1974
17 Guinea 1969
18 Guinea-Bissau 1974
19 Guyana 1998
20 Indonesia 1969
21 Iran 1969
22 Iraq 1975
23 Côte d’Ivoire 2001
24 Jordan 1969
25 Kazakhstan 1995
26 Kuwait 1969
27 Kyrgyzstan 1992
28 Lebanon 1969
29 Libya 1969
30 Malaysia 1969
31 Maldives 1976
32 Mali 1969
33 Mauritania 1969
34 Morocco 1969
35 Mozambique 1994
36 Niger 1969
37 Nigeria 1986
38 Oman 1972
39 Pakistan 1969
40 Palestine 1969
41 Qatar 1972
42 Saudi Arabia 1969
43 Senegal 1969
44 Sierra Leone 1972
45 Somalia 1969
46 Sudan 1969
47 Suriname 1996
48 Syria 1972
49 Tajikistan 1992
50 Togo 1997
51 Tunisia 1969
52 Turkey  1969
53 Turkmenistan 1992
54 Uganda 1974
55 United Arab Emirates 1972
56 Uzbekistan 1996
57 Yemen 1969

Related Links:

Related Map:

Saudi Arabia Map
Saudi Arabia Map

Recent Posts
"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."