Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent

Soccer Trophies

The Copa America

For many, learning that the longest-running national team competition in the world happens in South America is quite a surprise.  From the start in 1916, the elegant Copa America trophy has been the best-known prize in all of soccer below the equator.  It’s fair to say that, if the tournament had started in Europe instead, it might be nearly as famous as the World Cup instead of third or fourth on the list.  Thanks to a host of international stars like Leo Messi and Pato, as well as participants from North America from time to time, its reputation on the …Continue reading

The Henri Delaunay Cup

In the gap between World Cups, soccer fans have to turn their attention to regional competitions in order to get their fix for great international matches. Thankfully, the Henri Delaunay Cup is contested squarely in the middle of the gap, allowing the best national teams from all over Europe to claim the trophy as the continent’s best. The Euro, as most people call it, was first played out by four teams during the summer of 1960. The tournament now features 16 squads during a three-week showcase event for UEFA member countries. History Henri Delaunay, the head of the French Football …Continue reading

European Champion Clubs’ Cup

Every May, the eyes of the world turn to a stadium in Europe to see which team is able to claim the European Champion Clubs’ Cup, the trophy awarded to the winner of the UEFA Champions League Final. Despite being one of many trophies presented to the victors in continental tournaments all over the globe, many argue it is the most prestigious in all of club soccer. First hoisted in 1956, it has gone through two different designs and six reproductions as teams have reached the pinnacle of the sport several times. History The tournament itself, a yearly competition between …Continue reading

The FIFA World Cup/ Jules Rimet Trophy

There is arguably no more famous trophy on the planet than the one awarded to soccer’s best national team, the FIFA World Cup. Every four years, billions of people huddle around TVs, radios and laptops to catch every bit of action they can, awaiting the moment when the 14-inch-tall golden trophy is lifted high by the winning captain. Since the first competition in 1930, the prize has gone through two iterations, with the FIFA World Cup replacing the Jules Rimet Trophy at the 1974 tournament in West Germany after it had been claimed by Brazil at the previous event in …Continue reading