Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent

Rugby Trophies

The Webb Ellis Cup

Followers of rugby eagerly await the presentation of the Webb Ellis Cup every four years, the prize awarded by the International Rugby Board to the winner of the quadrennial event since it was first held in 1987.  The elaborate design gives the trophy a unique, almost stately appearance, one befitting the kings of the rugby world. There are two versions, one dating to 1906 and a replica created in 1986, shortly before the inaugural competition in Australia and New Zealand.  Officially known as the William Webb Ellis Cup, it stands 15 inches tall and weighs 10 pounds, and is affectionately …Continue reading

Six Nations Championship Trophy

European rugby fans have the privilege of watching top-class action every year thanks to the battle for the Six Nations Championship Trophy.  Sponsored by the Royal Bank of Scotland, this annual tournament features the national teams of England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, France and Italy, serving as the de facto European Championship for the sport since the league was formed in the year 2000.  Its history goes back much further, as the British countries have been playing against each other in formal competitions since 1883, with France joining them in 1910 and, but for occasional political tensions, playing ever since.  Despite …Continue reading