Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent

Cricket Trophies

The ICC Champions Trophy

Founded in 1998 as a way to produce a One Day International (ODI) competition to offset the mixed-format Cricket World Cup, the ICC Champions Trophy has quickly become the highest-regarded ODI event on the planet – and almost as sought after as the World Cup itself.  The mix of gold and silver that make up the prize is a nod to the ICC Cricket World Cup, but as its lower height and fuller shape symbolically demonstrate, it means less than the “big brother” trophy awarded for the larger tournament.  Don’t be fooled, though, the contests are just as fierce! History …Continue reading

The ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy

After going through four separate trophies over the course of a quarter-century, the International Cricket Council debuted the official ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy before the 1999 edition of the quadrennial tournament.   In crafting a permanent solution to the grand prize conundrum, the ICC has provided an elegant symbol of the competition’s stability moving forward – and, in the process, commissioned one of the most unique trophies in all of sport.  Having utilized classically-styled cups for much of its early history, the current trophy must be considered a modern take on the idea and is perhaps the only one …Continue reading