Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent

Baseball Trophies

The Commissioner’s Trophy (MLB)

As the summer months bleed into the gray days of October, Major League Baseball (MLB) welcomes another round of the World Series to determine its champion.  After a long, 162-game season and a dozen or so intense playoff matchups, the winners take home the Commissioner’s Trophy.  Awarded since 1967, it holds the distinction of being the only prize of the four major American sports to not be named after a particular individual – the NBA’s O’Brien Trophy, the NFL’s Lombardi Trophy and the NHL’s Stanley Cup all honor former coaches or high-ranking officials.   History After decades of crowning a …Continue reading