Montana County Map

Montana consists of 56 counties. There are two unified city-counties in Montana named Anaconda with Deer Lodge County and Butte with Silver Bow County.
Montana County Map Canada Lincoln Sanders Flathead Glacier Mineral Lake Missoula Ravalli Granite Beaverhead Madison Gallatin Powell Toole Pondera Teton Helena Deer-lodge Silver-bow Jefferson Broadwater Liberty Hill Chouteau Cascade Blaine Judith Meagher Park Phillips Fergus Sweet-grass Wheatland Carbon Stillwater Big-horn Yellowstone Golden-valley Musselshell Petroleum Valley Garfield Treasure Rosebud Powder-river Carter Custer Fallon Wibaux Prairie Dawson Mccone Richland Roosevelt Daniels Sheridan North-dakota South-dakota Wyoming Idaho
Description:Map of Montana displays the location of counties in the state. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Spanning an area of 147,040 square miles, Montana is the fourth largest state in the United States. There are 56 counties in the state. Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Gallatin, Jefferson, Lewis & Clark, Madison, Missoula, and Chouteau were the original counties when the Montana Territory was created in 1864. The area of Yellowstone National Park comes under Gallatin County and Park County.

Covering an area of 5,543 square miles, Beaverhead County is the largest county in Montana. Silver Bow County in southwestern Montana is the state's smallest county by area. With more than 155,000 inhabitants, Yellowstone County is the most populous county in the state. Petroleum County was the last county out of 56, founded in 1925. It is also the least populous county in Montana. Daniels County in northeastern portion of the state is considered one of the most rural counties in the US.


List of Counties in Missouri

County NamePopulation
(sq. mi.)
Beaverhead County Map9,4015542.31
Big Horn County Map13,3434994.81
Blaine County Map6,6014226.18
Broadwater County Map5,7471191.35
Carbon County Map10,4602047.99
Carter County Map1,2033339.57
Cascade County Map81,7552697.9
Chouteau County Map5,7593973.24
Custer County Map11,9243783.13
Daniels County Map1,7551426.09
Dawson County Map9,3272373.14
Deer Lodge County Map9,085736.98
Fallon County Map3,1201620.33
Fergus County Map11,4134339.17
Flathead County Map98,0825098.34
Gallatin County Map104,5022605.84
Garfield County Map1,3104668.06
Glacier County Map13,6942994.72
Golden Valley County Map8311175.3
Granite County Map3,3681727.44
Hill County Map16,5422896.36
Jefferson County Map11,8531656.64
Judith Basin County Map1,9401869.85
Lake County Map29,7581493.77
Lewis and Clark County Map67,2823460.96
Liberty County Map2,4091429.76
Lincoln County Map19,2593612.67
McCone County Map1,7002642.53
County NamePopulation
(sq. mi.)
Madison County Map7,9243586.54
Meagher County Map1,8272391.82
Mineral County Map4,1841219.82
Missoula County Map116,1302597.97
Musselshell County Map4,5891867.15
Park County Map16,1142802.41
Petroleum County Map4891653.9
Phillips County Map4,1335139.57
Pondera County Map6,0841624.7
Powder River County Map1,7463297.18
Powell County Map6,8582325.94
Prairie County Map1,1821736.55
Ravalli County Map42,0882394.21
Richland County Map11,4822084.09
Roosevelt County Map11,3052355.6
Rosebud County Map9,2875012.37
Sanders County Map11,5342762.17
Sheridan County Map3,6481676.58
Silver Bow County Map34,553718.31
Stillwater County Map9,4061795.09
Sweet Grass County Map3,6231855.08
Teton County Map6,0562272.61
Toole County Map4,9771910.95
Treasure County Map692978.86
Valley County Map7,5394921
Wheatland County Map2,1171423.09
Wibaux County Map1,093889.31
Yellowstone County Map158,4372635.15
Source: factfinder.census.gov

Last Updated on: March 23, 2020