Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Maps / Comoros / Government and Politics / Political System of Comoros

Political System of Comoros

Comoros politics is characterized by a multi-party system. The President is elected for a period of 4 years. He is the head of the state as well as the government.

The legislative power in Comoros is divided between the parliament and the government. The executive is composed of Cabinet Ministers and the President. The law is based on French and Islamic laws.

The important political parties of Comoros are:
  • Convention for the Renewal of the Comoros (CRC)
  • Front National pour la Justice (FNJ)
  • Parti Comorien pour la Democratie et le Progress (PCDP)
  • Rassemblement National pour le Development (RND)
  • Camp of the Autonomous Islands (CdIA)
  • Mouvement pour la Democratie et le Progress (MDP-NGDC)

Leaders of the parties at Comoros are:
  • CRC- Azali Assowmani
  • FNJ- Ahmed Rachid
  • PCDP- Ali Mroudjae
  • RND- Omar Tamou, Abdoulhamid Affraitane
  • MDP-NGDC- Abbas Djoussouf
The political leaders play a very important role in the Comoros politics. A person who has completed the age of 18 years can vote and actively participate in the political system of Comoros. In the 2006 election held at Comoros, Ahmed Abdallah Sambi won 58.0% votes and was elected as the new President of Comoros.

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with us at