Upper Normandy (Haute-Normandie) Map

Upper Normandy (Haute-Normandie) Maps Map of Picardie Map of Ile de France Center Map Lower Normandy (Basse-Normandie) Map
Description : Map of Haute-Normandie shows its provinces with their political boundaries. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

More Upper Normandy (Haute-Normandie) Maps

Haute Normandie is one of the 26 regions of France. This region was created in 1956, when Normandy was divided into two divisions namely Basse – Normandie and Haute – Normandie.

The capital of Haute – Normandie region is Rouen. Rouen is home to many beautifull churches and buildings. Rouen is known for it’s cathedral highest in France. The region has two departments namely Eure and Seine-Maritime. The region is divided into 6 arrondissements, 112 cantons and 1,420 communes. The total land area covered by the region is 12,318 km2.

After the German invasion in 1940, Normandy had an important role to play. On June 6, 1944, the coast was the setting for D-Day.

From the harbors of Normandy, there’s a huge supply of fresh and prepared fish and shellfish. A popular dish is the marmite dieppoise that is made up of fresh scallops, mussels and fish shine. Other catch from the sea includes Oysters, clams, lobsters and shrimp. Turbot, hake, skate and sole are also available at the Normandy coast.

Cidre is a popular beverage. It’s a fermented apple juice that has been made since the Middle Ages. Another beverage of Normandy is poire, a fermented pear juice. Calvados or Calva and Bénédictine are other beverages of the region.

Regions in France
AquitaineCorse (special status)Midi-Pyrénées
AuvergneFranche-ComtéNord-Pas de Calais
Normandie BasseHaute-NormandiePays de la Loire
Cote D AzurLimousinRhone-Alpes

Last Updated on: October 31st, 2017