Limousin Map

Limousin Map Poitou-Charentes Map Centre Map Map of Auvergne Map of Midi-Pyrénées Map of Aquitaine
Description : Map of Limousin shows its road networks with region boundaries. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

More Limousin Maps

Limousin is one of the French Metropolitan Regions of France. The capital of this region is Limoges. This region is divided into three departments Correze, Creuse and Haute-Vienne. Limousin is divided into 8 arrondissements, 106 Cantons and 747 communes. This region occupies over 16,942 km 2 of France’s area.

It’s an upland area. There’s a wide gap between the lowest land and the highest land of the region. The lowest land is approximately 250 m above sea level and the highest land is around 1009 m above sea level. Some important rivers of this region are Dordogne, Vienne, Cher and Creuse. The region is meets all the requirements for first-rate fishing.

Summers in Limousin region can be hot with temperatures that would exceed 32 °C. Winters of this region are long and cold. Snow is a common feature of winters in Limousin.

Limousin comprises of two historical French provinces namely Limousin and Marche. Limousin comprises of Correze department and central and southeastern part of Haute-Vienne. Marche comprises of most of Cruese department and the north and north-eastern part of Haute-Vienne. Small parts of other former provinces are also a part of Limousin. These regions include Angoumois, Poitou, Auvergne and Berry.

At present, the most populated section of this region is the province of Limousin.

Populationwise this region is ranked 22nd in the world. In Europe, Limousin is the French region, which has the least number of people living here. Infact, the population of the region is so less that it is quite often taken as an example to support to demand for merging of the regions. Limousin’s Cruese departement has the oldest population in France.

Limousin is a rural region. One thing this region is known for is beef-farming. Limousin is very famous for the herds of Limousin cattle found here. It’s also a popular timber-producing region. The capital of this region, Limoges was once an industrial power-base. The capital was world-renowned for its porcelain.

This region is considered a stronghold of the left. Limoges was the political center. Correze is a department that tends towards the right. It is also the departement of the president Jacques Chirac.

Regions in France
AquitaineCorse (special status)Midi-Pyrénées
AuvergneFranche-ComtéNord-Pas de Calais
Normandie BasseHaute-NormandiePays de la Loire
Cote D AzurLimousinRhone-Alpes

Last Updated on: October 27th, 2017