Description : Map of Burgundy (Bourgogne) shows its road and rail networks with region boundaries. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

More Burgundy (Bourgogne) Maps

The French Metropolitan Region of Bourgogne is one of the 26 regions of France. The capital of this region is Dijon. Dijon is famous as a gastronomic center. The departments of this region are Yonne, Cote-d’Or, Nievre and Saone-et-Loire. The region has around 15 arrondissements, 174 cantons and 2,045 communes. The total land area covered by this region is 31,582 square kilometers.
Bourgogne is made up of a number of old provinces.

This historic region is located in East Central France. The fertile Rhone and Saone River Valleys are an integral part of this region. Burgundy’s wine is popular across the world. The wine of the Cote d’Or (“Golden Slope” ) has enjoys great popularity.

Under the Roman rule, the region prospered tremendously. By the 5th century, the Burgundii, a Germanic tribe settled in this region. It was a part of the Frankish kingdom under Merovingians in 534 AD. Later in 751 Ad, it became a part of the Carolingians.

In 9th century, after the partition of the Carolingian Empire, two Burgundian states were formed. These were Lower Burgundy (Provence and Upper Burgundy.

Later the duchy of Burgundy and the free County of Burgundy were formed.

Regions in France
AquitaineCorse (special status)Midi-Pyrénées
AuvergneFranche-ComtéNord-Pas de Calais
Normandie BasseHaute-NormandiePays de la Loire
Cote D AzurLimousinRhone-Alpes

Last Updated on: October 25th, 2017