Map of Aquitaine

Download Email
Aquitaine Map Poitou-Charentes Map Limousin Map Map of Auvergne Map of Midi-Pyrénées Spain Map
Description : Map of Aquitaine shows its road and rail networks with region boundaries.Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

More Aquitaine Maps

Aquitaine is a French metropolitan region located in south-western France. This region is located along the Atlantic Ocean and the Pyrenees mountain range. The region shares border with Spain. Bordeaux is the capital of Aquitaine region.
The departments of Aquitaine are Dordogne, Gironde, Landes, Lot-et-Garonne and Pyrenees-Atlantiques. Aquitaine has 18 arrondissements. In total, there are 2,296 communes.

Aquitaine covers about 7.6 per cent of France’s total area.
Spain is located to the south of Aquitaine. Midi-Pyrenees is located to the east. Poitou-Charentes and Limousin are located to the North. Atlantic Ocean (Bay of Biscay) is located to the west of Aquitaine. The popular coast of the Cote d’Argent is located in France. The Bassin d’Arcachon is a famous lagoon of Bassin d’Arcachon. To the south of Aquitaine region, the Pyrenees mountains are located. Aquitaine is also blessed with the largest sand dune of Europe.

During Roman times, Gallia Aquitania comprised of the region of Gaul between Pyrenees Mountains and Garonne River. Aquitaine was quite thoroughly romanized in its culture. In the 4th century AD, Aquitaine was divided into three separate provinces. These three provinces of Aquitaine were Aquitania prima, Aquitania secunda and Aquitania tertia or Aquitania Novempopulana.

After the Romans, the Visigoths came to power in the region. Then the Franks occupied Aquitaine. After this, Aquitaine passed on to the Carolingian Empire.

French is for obvious reasons the language spoken by maximum people in that region. Other native languages are also spoken in this French metropolitan region, such as Basque Language and various forms of Occitan. Languages such as English, Arabic and Spanish were the non- native tongues that were brought to the region by immigrants.

The French Metropolitan Area of Aquitaine, is home to many successful sport teams. One of France’s most successful association football teams, Girondins de Bordeaux is from Aquitaine region. Rugby Union and Bull-fighting are also popular in Aquitaine. On Aquitaine’s coasts, major surfing championships are also organized.

The important cities of Aquitaine are Bordeaux, Bayonne, Pau, Mont-de-Marsan, Perigueux, Biarritz and Agen.

Regions in France
AquitaineCorse (special status)Midi-Pyrénées
AuvergneFranche-ComtéNord-Pas de Calais
Normandie BasseHaute-NormandiePays de la Loire
Cote D AzurLimousinRhone-Alpes

Last Updated on: October 25th, 2017