Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Hungary Map / Regions in Hungary

Regions in Hungary

Knowing about the regions in Hungary means knowing about the area divisions of the country. In 1999, roughly 7 statistical regions in Hungary were created by the Law 1999/XCII amending Law 1996/XXI. These regions in Hungary are expected to replace the current twenty administrative divisions into the capital city and 19 counties. Regions are basically groupings of those units.

The seven Hungarian regions are mentioned below:
  • Northern Hungary
  • Central Transdanubia
  • Western Transdanubia
  • Northern Great Plain
  • Southern Great Plain
  • Central Hungary
  • Southern Transdanubia
Among the above-mentioned regions, the northern Hungary covers the counties including Heves, Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen and Nograd.

On the other hand, the northern great plain covers Jasz-Nagykun-Szolnok, Hajdu-Bihar and Szabolcs-Szatmar-Bereg counties.

The southern great plain again includes the counties of Bacs-Kiskun, Csongrad and Bekes.

Apart from this, the central Hungary includes the Pest and the capital Budapest County.

Central Transdanubia on the other hand, covers the counties of Fejer, Komarom-Esztergom and Veszprem.

Western Transdanubia covers the Zala, Vas and Gyor-Moson-Sopron.

Besides, the southern Transdanubia covers the counties of Somogy, Baranya and Tolna.

Hungary basically belongs to the below mentioned Euro regions:
  • Danube-Kris-Mures-Tisa
  • Danube-Drava-Sava
  • Carpathian Euroregion
  • West Pannonia Euroregion
  • Ister-Granum Euroregion

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at