Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Maps / Colombia Map / Political Map of Colombia

Political Map of Colombia

Political Map of Colombia Bogot City Arauca City Pasto City La Guajira Magdalena Cesar Atlantico Bolivar Sucre Cordoba Choco Antioquia Caldas Risaralda Quindio Norte De Santander Santander Boyaca Arauca Casanare Vichada Map. Guainia Vaupes Guaviare Meta Bogota Cundinamarca Tolima Valle Del Cauca Cauca Huila Caqueta Amazonas Putumayo Narino PANAMA ECUADOR PERU BRAZIL VENEZUELA
Description: Colombia Political map showing the international boundary, departments boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

The Republic of Colombia is a country located in north-western South America. It covers a total area of 440,831 square miles. The estimated population is 45,925,397.

As shown in the Republic of Colombia Political Map, Colombia is bordered by Venezuela and Brazil to the east, Ecuador and Peru to the south, Caribbean Sea to the north, Panama to the north-west and the Pacific Ocean to the west.

The Colombia Political Map shows the national capital, major cities, provinces and their capitals, and the international borders of the country.

Santa Fe de Bogota is the capital of Colombia and is represented in the map with a red circle enclosed in a square. The largest city in the country, it has an estimated population of 8,600,000 and it covers an area of 612.7 square miles. It is located on the west of Savannah of Bogota.

The other major cities of Colombia are:
  • Medellin
  • Cali
  • Barranquilla
  • Cartagena
  • Cucuta
  • Bucaramanga
  • Ibague
  • Soledad
  • Pereira
  • Santa Marta
Colombia is divided into thirty-two departments that are sub-divided into municipalities. There is also one capital district. The departments are:

Amazonas, Antioquia, Arauca, Atlantico, Bolivar, Boyaca, Caldas, Caqueta, Casanare, Cauca, Cesar, Choco, Cordoba, Cundinamarca, Guainia, Guaviare, Huila, La Guajira, Magdalena, Meta, Narino, Norte de Santander, Putumayo, Quindio, Risaralda, San Andres, Providencia and Santa Catalina, Santander, Sucre, Tolima, Valle del Cauca, Vaupes, Vichada, Bogota Capital District.

The President of Colombia is both the head of the state and the head of the government. Juan Manuel Santos has been the president of the country since August 7, 2010. Serving under him is the Vice-President of Colombia, Angelino Garzon.

Colombian economy is the fourth-largest economy of Latin America. The country is rich in natural resources and is known as world's leading source of emeralds. It exports petroleum, coal, coffee, gold etc to its trading partners United States of America, European Union, Venezuela and China.

Cities of Colombia
DepartmentPopulation: 2005-05-22 censusArea(km.²)Area(mi.²)Capital
Distrito Capital6,778,6911,732669Bogota
Guainia18,79772,23827,891Puerto Inirida
Guaviare56,75842,32716,343San Jose del Guaviare
La Guajira655,94320,8488,049Riohacha
Magdalena1,136,81923,1888,953Santa Marta
Norte de Santander1,208,33621,6588,362Cucuta
San Andres y Providencia59,5734417San Andres
Valle del Cauca4,052,53522,1408,548Cali
Vichada44,592100,24238,704Puerto Carreno
33 divisions41,468,3841,141,748440,831  

Note : Population :  2005-05-22 census.


EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  (408) 637-0064