Political Map of England

Political Map of England SCOTLAND WALES ISLE OF MAN Northern Ireland IRELAND Northumberland Tyne and Wear Durham Hartlepool Darlington Stockton on Tees Middlesbrough Redcar and Cleveland North Yorkshire York East Riding of Yorkshire North Lincolnshire North East Lincolnshire West Yorkshire South Yorkshire Greater Manchester Blackburn with Darwen Lancashire Blackpool Merseyside Cumbria Halton Cheshire West and Chester Warrington Cheshire East Shropshire Telford and Wrekin Herefordshire Staffordshire Stoke-on-Trent Cornwall Plymouth Devon Somerset Dorset Poole Bournemouth Hampshire Southampton Isle of Wight Isles of Scilly Torbay Portsmouth West Sussex Surrey East Sussex Brighton & Hove Kent Medway Thurrock Southend-on-Sea Greater London Essex Hertfordshire Buckinghamshire Slough Bracknell Forest Wokingham Windsor and Maidenhead Reading Bath and North East Somerset Bristol North Somerset Wiltshire South Goucestershire Gloucestershire Oxfordshire Worcestershire Derbyshire Derby Nottingham Nottinghamshire Lincolnshire Kingston upon Hull West Midlands Warwickshire Swindon West Berkshire Milton Keynes Bedford Central Bedfordshire Luton Leicestershire Leicester Rutland Northamptonshire Peterborough Cambridgeshire Norfolk Suffolk FRANCE
Description : Political map of England showing the surrounding countries with International boundaries, county boundaries with their capitals and the national capital Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

England is a country that forms part of the United Kingdom. The total area covered by the country is 50,346 square miles. As per the 2011 estimate, the approximate population of the country is 51,446,000.

As shown in the England political map, England is bordered by Scotland to the north; Wales to the west; the Irish Sea to the north-west, the Celtic Sea to the south-west, the North Sea to the east and the English Channel to the south. The English Channel separates the country from continental Europe.

The central and southern part of the island of Great Britain in the North Atlantic also form part of England. The country comprises over hundred smaller islands including the Isles of Scilly and the Isle of Wight.

London is the capital city of the United Kingdom. Covering an area of 607 square miles, it is the largest metropolitan area in the United Kingdom. It is located on the River Thames.

London is the largest financial center along with New York. Fashion, cuisine, tourist places, and art and architecture of the city attracts a million visitors; it is the most-visited city in the world. The Tower of London, Kew Gardens, Palace of Westminster, St Margaret's Church, Buckingham Palace, Piccadilly Circus, and Trafalgar Square are the major attractions.

England is divided into nine regions that are further divided into smaller administrative units. The regions are:

  • East Midlands
  • East of England
  • Greater London
  • North East England
  • North West England
  • South East England
  • West Midlands
  • Yorkshire and the Humber

England has a parliamentary form of government which works under a constitutional monarchy. The leader of the largest party in the House of Lords is elected as the prime minister. He then selects a cabinet to run the government; the tenure of the government is five years.

One of the largest economies in the world, England has a mixed market economy. Chemicals, pharmaceutical sectors, aerospace, and manufacturing are the major drivers of the economy of England. Owing to a number of beautiful attractions in the country, tourism contributes to the finances of England.

Last Updated Date: February 20, 2020