Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Chad / Government and Politics / Constitution of Chad

Constitution of Chad

The Constitution of Chad was first adopted in 1959. Thereafter the Chad Constitution was revised six times and amended several times. The Constitution of the Republic of Chad was passed by referendum on 31st March 1996.
By another referendum in June 2005 the constitutional term limits were removed.

The structure of Chad Constitution is made up of :
  • The Preamble
  • Section on State and Sovereignty
  • Section on Freedom, basic rights and duties
  • Section on Executive power
The pre-independence Constitution adopted in 1959 was modified for the first time in 1960 during Chad's independence. In this modification Chad established itself as a parliamentary government with a prime minister exercising executive powers. In another revision in 1965, the rivals to the ruling party were removed.

President Tombalbaye in 1973 included indigenous customs into the constitution. After the death of President Tombalbaye in a military coup in 1975, another amendment was made in 1978. This amendment led to the formation of a coalition government.

In June 1982, Habre came to power and dissolved the existing government. In October 1982 Habre proclaimed the Fundamental Law which described Chad a secular, indivisible republic with the ultimate power lying with the people. Arabic and French were adopted as official languages. The words of "Unity, Work, Progress" were adopted as the nation's motto in the 1982 amendment.

Further, in the 1982 amendment, the office of the president was given controlling authority of the National army, the Council of ministers, National Advisory Council.

In July 1988, Habre appointed a constitutional committee to formulate a new Constitution of Chad giving special attention to the President, Council of Ministers, National Advisory Council, Regional Government and Fundamental laws of the people.