Home > Burundi Map > Burundi Facts

Burundi Facts

by Vishal Kumar

Burundi is a densely populated country located in central Africa, with the majority of the population living in extreme poverty and hunger.

What is the capital of Burundi?

The capital of Burundi is Gitega. It was moved from the city of Bujumbura (which is near Lake Tanganyika) to Gitega, which is 39 miles (63 km) further inland, in January 2019.

Where is Burundi located?

Burundi is a landlocked country in east-central Africa, covering an area of 10,745 square miles.

Which countries border Burundi?

Burundi is bordered on the north by Rwanda, Tanzania on the east and south, and by the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the west.

What are the administrative divisions of Burundi?

One of the smallest countries in Africa, Burundi is divided into eighteen provinces. The major provinces are Bubanza, Bujumbura Mairie, Bururi, Karuzi, etc.

Who are the political leaders of Burundi?

President: General Évariste Ndayishimiye

First Vice President: Prosper Bazombanza

What is the currency of Burundi?

The Burundi Franc, denoted by the ISO 4217 code BIF, is the official currency of the country. It was first issued in 1963.

What is the official language of Burundi?

French, Rundi, and Swahili are the official languages of Burundi.

What is the religion of Burundi?

The official religion of the country is Roman Catholicism; about 67 percent of Burundians are Roman Catholics, 23 percent practice indigenous beliefs, and 10 percent are Muslims.

What is the economy of Burundi like?

Burundi is a densely populated country with a majority of the population living in extreme poverty and hunger. Poor education, unhygienic living conditions, scarcity of food, water, and medical facilities, and corruption are other major problems. HIV/AIDS is rampant in Burundi and continues to tear its economy apart.

Agriculture is the main source of revenue in Burundi, with ninety percent of the population dependent on farming. Coffee, cotton, tea, corn, sorghum, sweet potatoes, bananas, tapioca, and milk are the major agricultural products. The country exports coffee, tea, sugar, and cotton. Belgium, France, Italy, Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia, Uganda, and Japan are the import partners. The export partners of Burundi are Germany, Belgium, Switzerland, Rwanda, and Thailand.

When is the national day of Burundi celebrated?

Burundi’s Independence Day is celebrated on July 1 every year to commemorate independence from Belgian rule in 1962. The venue for the celebrations is Bujumbura’s City Park, where people gather to participate in the independence-day festivities. Burundi’s push for independence was influenced by the instability and ethnic persecution that occurred in Rwanda. In November 1959, Rwandese Hutu attacked the Tutsi and massacred thousands of them. Many Tutsi escaped to Uganda and Burundi to find freedom from persecution.


The country claimed independence on July 1, 1962, and legally changed its name from Ruanda-Urundi to Burundi. Mwami Mwambutsa IV was named the king. On September 18, 1962, just over a month after declaring independence from Belgium, Burundi joined the United Nations. In 1966 the monarchy was thrown over, and the Republic of Burundi was established.

Related Maps