Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Burundi Map / Political Map of Burundi

Political Map of Burundi

Political Map of Burundi Bujumbura City Bururi City Cankuzo City Gitega City Rutana City RWANDA TANZANIA DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO
Description : Burundi Political map showing the international boundary, provinces boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Burundi is a densely populated country located in Central Africa. It covers a total area of 10,745 square miles. The estimated population is 10,216,190.

As shown in the Burundi Political Map, Burundi is a landlocked country in east-central Africa and is bordered on the north by Rwanda, on the east and south by Tanzania, and on the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

The national capital, Bujumbura is clearly shown in the map. It is located on the northeastern shore of Lake Tanganyika. Covering an area of 33.4 square miles, it is also the largest city of the country and the main port of Burundi.

The Burundi Political Map highlights the major cities, provinces and their capitals, national and international boundaries of the nation.

One of the smallest countries in Africa, Burundi is divided into seventeen provinces. The major provinces are: Bubanza, Bujumbura Mairie, Bujumbura Rurale, Bururi, Karuzi, Kirundo, Muramvya, Ngozi, Ruyigi, and Cankuzo.

Burundi is a presidential representative democratic republic. The President of Burundi is both head of state and head of government. Pierre Nkurunziza is the current president of the nation.

Burundi is a densely populated country with majority of the population living in extreme poverty and hunger. Poor education, unhygienic living conditions, scarcity of food, water and medical facilities, and corruption are another major problems. HIV/AIDS is rampant in Burundi and continues to tear its economy apart.

ProvincePopulation:1999 estimatesArea(km.²)Area(mi.²)
Bujumbura Mairie319,0988733
Bujumbura Rural436,8961,089420
17 provinces6,490,51825,8079,964

Note : -Population: 1999 estimates. Source for populations

Last Updated On : October 10, 2012

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
For further info please get in touch with us at