Home > Burundi Map > Burundi Economy > Burundi Currency

Burundi Currency

by Vishul Malik

Burundi currency is called Burundi Franc. Burundi shared its currency with Belgian Congo. Burundi currency was initiated in 1963.

The currency of Burundi is the Burundi Franc. Burundi currency was initiated in 1963. the currency is available in denominations of 10, 50, 100, 500, 1000,2000, and 5000. The coins are available in denominations of 1, 5, and 10. The history of the Burundi currency can be traced back to 1916 when the German administration which ruled over the province issued currency notes in present Burundi. The Franc currency was introduced by the Banque du Congo Belge by virtue of an agreement signed in 1927. The Banque du Congo lost its power to issue notes after it was nationalized. It was transformed into the Banque Centrale du Congo Belge et du Ruanda – Urundi and was given the right to issue currency for the whole of the Belgian Congo In 1960 the Banque d’Emission du Rwanta et du Burundi was set up for the purpose of issuing currency got the province of Ruanda- Urundi and the Belgian Congo. Burundi used the currency of Belgian Congo until 1960. The inflation rate of the Burundi currency according to 2006 estimates is found to be 11%.