Political Map of Sri Lanka

Political Map of Sri Lanka
Description :  Sri Lanka political map showing the provinces boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Sri Lanka political map is very useful for students and discerning travelers. Sri Lanka is an island country, located in the Indian Ocean.
India is a neighboring country of Sri Lanka. Colombo is the capital of the country, situated at an altitude of 4 meters above sea level.

political map of Sri Lanka presents detailed information on the country's administrative divisions. The administrative capitals are also pointed on the political map of Sri Lanka. The geographical coordinates of Sri Lanka are 7° North latitude and 81° East longitude. This Indian Ocean island country is situated in the southern part of the Indian subcontinent.

Location of Sri Lanka
The Map of Sri Lanka points the country in the southern part of the Indian subcontinent. The latitudinal and longitudinal extent of the country is 7° North and 81° East respectively. Of the total area of 65,610 square kilometers, the land area covered is 64,740 square kilometers.

The remaining 870 kilometers is covered by water bodies. 1,340 kilometers make up of the coastline of the country. Pidurutalagala at a height of 2,524 meters is the highest point of the country while the lowest point of the country is Indian Ocean. Sri Lanka experiences tropical monsoon climate.

Capital of Sri Lanka
Colombo, situated at an altitude of 4 meters above sea level, is the capital of Sri Lanka. The geographical coordinates of the city are 6° 55' 55'' North latitude and 79° 50' 52'' East longitude. The city has four airports, which are served by many international airlines. The airports are Colombo Ratmalana, Koggala, Katukurunda and Bandaranaike International airport. The neighboring cities are Fort, Pettah, Slave Island, New Bazaar and Maradona.

Province Capitals
The province capitals are marked with white squares on the Sri Lanka map. The province boundaries are drawn with broken lines as shown on the printable Sri Lanka map. The provinces and their capitals are listed below:
  • North Eastern- Trincomalee
  • North Central- Anutadhapura
  • North Western- Kurunegala
  • Central- Kandy
  • UVA- Badulla
  • Western- Colombo
  • Sabaragamuwa- Ratnapura
  • Southern- Galle
Batticaloa 330,8992,4639515
Jaffna 739,3561,1144304
Kilinochchi 91,7561,1714524
Mannar 106,9401,9637584
Mullaitivu 77,5121,5806104
Nuwara Eliya700,083522,2191,2284742
Trincomalee 256,7902,6161,0105
Vavuniya 95,9042,6421,0204
25 districts16,864,54414,850,00164,39524,862

Note  : -Pop-2001: 2001-07-17 census (source [4]).

Last Updated on: February 25, 2020

Jaffna City Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte City Colombo City Anuradhapura City Badulla City Batticaloa City Galle City Kandy City Kurunegala City Polonnaruwa City Ratnapura City Trincomalee City CENTRAL Eastern North Central Northern North Western Sabaragamuwa UVA Sourhern Westrn INDIA