Provinces of South Africa

South Africa is segregated into nine different provinces. When the general election was held in 1994, the Bantustans (former homelands of South Africa) were reintegrated. The result was that the existing four provinces were further divided into nine sections. Today, each of these provinces carves a niche for its premier council, legislature, landscape, economy and population. The nine provinces are:
  • The Free State
  • The Eastern Cape
  • KwaZulu-Natal
  • Gauteng
  • Mpumalanga
  • Limpopo
  • North West
  • The Northern Cape
  • The Western Cape

When it comes to land area, there are vast differences in the cover area of the provinces. For example, while Gauteng is noted for being the tiniest of all with an approximate land area of 16, 548km2, Northern Cape is noted for being a vast province with approximately 372,889km2 land area. Similarly, the number of people residing in the provinces too differs largely. For instance, though Gauteng is the smallest of all provinces, but is the most densely populated with around 12.27-million residents. On the other hand, Northern Cape though covers one third of the country’s land area, it is quite thinly populated and records an approximate population of 1.15-million.

Formerly the nine provinces were divided into 53 districts. However, with the implementation of 12th Amendment of the Constitution in 2005, December, the number was reduced to 52. These districts can be either be categorized under district municipalities or under metropolitan and are basically referred to as the second level of administration.

S.N.ProvinceCapitalLargest cityAreaPopulation (2011)
1Eastern CapeBhisho (Bisho)Port Elizabeth168,966 km2 (65,238 sq mi)6562053
2Free StateBloemfonteinBloemfontein129,825 km2 (50,126 sq mi)2745590
3GautengJohannesburgJohannesburg18,178 km2 (7,019 sq mi)12272263
4KwaZulu-NatalPietermaritzburgDurban94,361 km2 (36,433 sq mi)10267300
5LimpopoPolokwane (Pietersburg)Polokwane125,754 km2 (48,554 sq mi)5404868
6MpumalangaMbombela (Nelspruit)Mbombela76,495 km2 (29,535 sq mi)4039939
7North WestMahikeng (Mafikeng)Rustenburg104,882 km2 (40,495 sq mi)3509953
8Northern CapeKimberleyKimberley372,889 km2 (143,973 sq mi)1145861
9Western Cape Cape TownCape Town129,462 km2 (49,986 sq mi)5822734
10Republic of South AfricaPretoria, Cape Town, BloemfonteinJohannesburg1,220,813 km2 (471,359 sq mi)51770560

Last Updated on: October 24th, 2017