Home > South Africa Map > South Africa Facts

South Africa Facts

by Vishal Kumar

Official Name Republic of South Africa Continent Africa Lat Long 29 00 S, 24 00 E Area 1,221,037 km2 (471,443 sq mi) Population 54956900 Capital Pretoria (executive), Bloemfontein (judicial), Cape Town…

Official Name Republic of South Africa
Continent Africa
Lat Long 29 00 S, 24 00 E
Area 1,221,037 km2 (471,443 sq mi)
Population 54956900
Capital Pretoria (executive), Bloemfontein (judicial), Cape Town (legislative)
Largest City Johannesburg
Official Languages IsiZulu, IsiXhosa, Afrikaans, Sepedi, English
Major Religion Protestant 36.6% (Zionist Christian 11.1%, Pentecostal/Charismatic 8.2%, Methodist 6.8%, Dutch Reformed 6.7%, Anglican 3.8%), Catholic 7.1%, Muslim 1.5%, other Christian 36%, other 2.3%, unspecified 1.4%, none 15.1% (2001 census)
National Day Freedom Day, 27 April (1994)
Form of Government Unitary constitutional parliamentary republic
President Cyril Ramaphosa
Vice President Cyril Ramaphosa
Prime Minister NA
Currency Rand (ZAR)
GDP $725.004 billion (2015 Est.)
Calling Code 27
Time Zone SAST (UTC+2)
Internet TLD .za


What is the capital of South Africa ?

South Africa’s capital is divided among 3 cities:

  • Pretoria (administrative)
  • Cape Town (legislative)
  • Bloemfontein (judicial)

When was South Africa colonized by Europeans ?

The first Europeans to land at the Cape of Good Hope were Portuguese explorers, led by Bartolomeu Dias in 1488. Dutch colonists landed at South Africa’s southern tip, which would be called the Cape of Good Hope, and later Cape Town, in 1652. The Dutch East India Company established a station there to resupply their ships between the Netherlands and the Far East while they traveled the spice trade route.

How did the discovery of diamonds affect South Africa ?

The discovery of diamonds at the Orange River in 1867 led to colonization and conflict of South Africa. Gold was also discovered in the area, so Europeans began immigrating to South Africa in hopes of striking it rich. This caused conflicts between the Europeans and the indigenous peoples, and between the Dutch and the British.

What is apartheid ?

Apartheid was a legal form of racial segregation in South Africa from 1948 to 1994. Though racial discrimination and segregation had been around in South Africa since colonists first arrived in the country, apartheid made the segregation legal. Non-white people of South Africa were forced to live in specific areas, robbed of their citizenship, and provided with inferior services like health care and education.

When and how did apartheid end ?

Apartheid was resisted and protested for many years by people in and out of South Africa. In fact, South Africa was one of the first issues the United Nations addressed. The UN placed an embargo on South African oil, prohibiting trade with South Africa because of its apartheid policies. President Frederik Willem de Klerk worked to end apartheid, leading to Nelson Mandela winning South Africa’s first fully democratic (universal suffrage), multi-racial election in 1994.

Who was Nelson Mandela ?

Nelson Mandela was an anti-apartheid activist who served as the first democratically (with universal suffrage) elected President of South Africa from May 1994 to June 1999. He was an advocate of human rights and was 75 years old when elected president. The UN declared July 18 Mandela Day in honor of Mandela’s work to end social injustices.

What is the population of South Africa ?

Approximately 50 million

How big is South Africa ?

1,219,090 square kilometers

What countries border South Africa ?

  • Botswana
  • Lesotho (completely surrounded by SA)
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • eSwatini (Swaziland) (almost entirely surrounded by SA)
  • Zimbabwe

What are the major cities in South Africa ?

  1. Johannesburg
  2. Cape Town
  3. Ekurhuleni
  4. Durban
  5. Pretoria

What is the official language of South Africa ?

There are 11 official languages in South Africa:

  • IsiZulu
  • IsiXhosa
  • Afrikaans
  • Sepedi
  • English
  • Setswana
  • Sesotho
  • Xitsonga
  • IsiNdebele
  • Tshivenda
  • SiSwati

What are the provinces of South Africa ?

  • Eastern Cape
  • Free State
  • Gauteng
  • KwaZulu-Natal
  • Limpopo
  • Mpumplanga
  • Northern Cape
  • North-West
  • Western Cape

When is South Africa’s national day ?

May 31, 1910 – The union of South Africa (which united the Cape Colony, Natal, Transvaal, and the Orange Free State). This day is considered Independence Day.

May 31 1961 – South Africa was declared a republic

April 27, 1994 – Majority rule was established in South Africa. This day is the national holiday of South Africa, called Freedom Day.

Who is the president of South Africa ?

President: Cyril Ramaphosa

Deputy President :

Kgalema Motlanthe

Who are the Zulu ?

The Zulu are an ethnic group of South Africa who were discriminated against under apartheid during the 19th and 20th centuries. The Zulu became a powerful force against the colonists under their famous Zulu King, Shaka, facing Britain and defeating them, before ultimately being conquered by them and absorbed into Natal, a British colony.

Related Maps