Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Scotland Map / Councils / Map of South Lanarkshire Council

Map of South Lanarkshire Council

Map of South Lanarkshire Council, Scotland (UK) Renfrewshire Map East Renfrewshire Map East Ayrshire Map North Ayrshire Map South Ayrshire Map Umfries and Galloway Map Scottish Borders Map Midlothian Map @ West Lothian Map North Lanarkshire Map Glasgow Map
Description : Map showing the major cities and roads of the South Lanarkshire Council, Scotland (UK). Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

One of the 32 unitary authorities of Scotland, the South Lanarkshire Council area shares borders with the south eastern part of the city of Glasgow, East Ayrshire, the Scottish Borders, Dumfries and Galloway, West Lothian, North Lanarkshire and East Renfrewshire. Segment of the historic county of Lanarkshire is also included into its boundaries.

The administrative headquarters of the South Lanarkshire Council is located at Hamilton. The 16 storied building; a 165 foot tower is regarded as the largest in Hamilton. It is known to have around 16, 000 employees. South Lanarkshire is spread over a total area of 684 square miles.

South Lanarkshire has a total of 20 council wards and there are three to four elected councilors from each. Election is done through the single transferable vote system. There exists a cabinet style system and all important decisions are undertaken by the Executive Committee. The council is presently governed by a Labour Group majority.

The South Lanarkshire area was formed in the year 1996 by incorporating the areas of Hamilton, East Kilbride, and Clydesdale districts and some outer regions of the Glasgow district. The main settlements of South Lanarkshire are Lanark, Larkhall, Blantyre, Carluke, Hamilton etc.


Cities in South Lanarkshire Council
South LanarkshireDouglas55.55-3.85
South LanarkshireLesmahagow55.62-3.9
South LanarkshireBiggar55.62-3.52
South LanarkshireShieldhill55.646628-3.575392
South LanarkshireLanark55.65-3.78
South LanarkshireBlackwood55.67-3.92
South LanarkshireStrathaven55.67-4.07
South LanarkshireStonehouse55.700766-3.984568
South LanarkshireCarluke55.72-3.83
South LanarkshireLarkhall55.73-3.97
South LanarkshireForth55.75-3.68
South LanarkshireEast Kilbride55.77-4.17
South LanarkshireBlantyre55.77-4.1
South LanarkshireCambuslang55.82-4.18

Last Updated : October 06, 2014

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."
For further info please get in touch with us at