Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Peru Map / Peru Government

Peru Government

The constitution of Peru that was formed on 31st December, 1993 established the present form of Peru Government which is constitutional republic form of government. Before 1992 Peru had a civilian government with a bicameral legislature. This governmental system of Peru was changed in 1992.

The Executive branch of the Peru government has the president a the chief of state and head of government. The present president of Peru is President Martín Vizcarra who is the head of the government in Peru. The cabinet is a part of the executive and it is made up of a council of ministers who are appointed by the president. The prime minister has no role to play in the executive portion of the Peru government. Executive powers lie only in the hands of the President.

The Legislative branch of government of Peru is a unicameral body and it comprises the Congress. The members of Congress are appointed on the basis of election results. The third wing of the Peruvian government is the Judiciary. The Supreme Court of Justice or Corte Suprema de Justicia is the sole functioning judicial body in Peru.

The other aspects of Peru government are the electoral system, the administrative bodies(national, regional and local), political parties and international relations of Peru.

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at