Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Norway Map / Norway Facts

Norway Facts

Find all about Norway facts here, including capital city, currency, flag, language, tradition, population, symbols, largest cities, maps, goverment, history, economy and the like.

Quick Facts
Official Name Norway
Lat Long62 00 N, 10 00 E
Area385,178[4] km2 (148,718 sq mi)
Largest CityOslo
Official LanguagesNorwegian
Major ReligionChurch of Norway (Evangelical Lutheran - official) 82.1%, other Christian 3.9%, Muslim 2.3%, Roman Catholic 1.8%, other 2.4%, unspecified 7.5% (2011 est.)
National DayConstitution Day, 17 May (1814)
Form of GovernmentUnitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Vice PresidentNA
Prime MinisterErna Solberg
CurrencyNorwegian krone (NOK)
GDP$351.603 billion (2015 Est.)
Calling Code47
Time ZoneCET (UTC+1) Summer (DST) CEST (UTC+2)

Where is Norway ?
Norway, officially the Kingdom of Norway, is a country located in the western and northern parts of the Scandinavian Peninsula in northern Europe.

What is the capital of Norway ?
The global city, Oslo is the capital of Norway. It is the cultural, scientific, and economic center of the country. The city is a hub of Norwegian trade, maritime industries, banking, industry and trade. With a population of 605,005, Oslo is the most-populous city in Norway.

What countries border Norway ?
Norway is bordered by the Barents Sea on the north, by Finland and Russia on the northeast, by Sweden on the east, by Skagerrak Strait and the North Sea on the south, and on the west by the Norwegian Sea.

How big is Norway ?
Norway covers a total area of 148,746 square miles. The country has a coastline extending up to 1700 miles.

What is the population of Norway ?
With an estimated population of about 4.9 million, Norway is the second-least densely populated country in Europe.

What are the ethnic groups in Norway ?
Majority of the Norwegian population is made up of the Scandinavians of Germanic descent. The remaining population comprises Danes, Swedes, Britons, Pakistanis, Americans, Iranians, and former Yugoslavs.

What are the administrative divisions of Norway ?
Norway is a Nordic unitary state, divided into nineteen first-level administrative counties known as fylkers. The counties are administered by a County Governor. The counties are further divided into 430 second-level municipalities called the kommuners. The municipalities are headed by a mayor and a small executive cabinet.

Who are the political leaders of Norway ?
The government of Norway is a unitary parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy.
   King - King Harald V
   Prime Minister - Erna Solberg
   President of the Storting - Olemic Thommessen
   Chief Justice - Tore Schei

What currency is used in Norway ?
The krone denoted by the ISO 4217 code NOK is the official currency of Norway and its dependent territories. One krone is subdivided into 100 øre. It is commonly abbreviated as kr.

What is the official language of Norway ?
Bokmal and Nynorsk are the two North Germanic Norwegian languages that are most widely used in the nation. Both of them are designated as official languages and are used in public administration, education, churches, and media. English, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Japanese, Italian, Latin and Mandarin are the foreign languages usually taught in schools.

What is the religion of Norway ?
The predominant religion in Norway is Christianity. The major denominations include Evangelical Lutherans, Roman Catholics, Pentecostalism, Methodism, Baptism, and the Seventh-day Adventist Church. Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, Judaism, and Sikhism are the minority religions in the country.

What is the economy of Norway like ?
Norway has the second-highest GDP per-capita in the world. As estimated in 2010, the country had a total GDP of $414.462 billion. It is one of the wealthiest country in the world with extensive reserves of petroleum, natural gas, minerals, seafood, lumber, and hydropower. The country is the largest producer of oil and natural gas in the world outside of the Middle East. Tourism is an important sector accounting for over fifteen percent of total service revenues.The picturesque coastline and its fjords are the major attractions.

When is the national day of Norway celebrated ?
The national day of Norway is celebrated on May 17 every year. The day is also known as Norway's Constitution Day and is celebrated with parades and festivities. The national day is celebrated to mark the signing of Norway's Constitution at Eidsvoll on May 17, 1814. On this day the country was declared independent from the Danish rule.

Last Updated on: July 10, 2017

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at