Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Maps / Estonia Map / Estonia Counties

Estonia Counties

The Estonia Counties are 15 in number. The counties of Estonia are basically the administrative sub-divisions of Estonia. The counties in Estonia are also divided into a number of rural and urban municipalities.

A governor is appointed by the government of Estonia for each county for a term of five years. These governors are the representatives of the national government at the regional level. The various counties at Estonia have also got a large number of tourist attractions.

The names of the fifteen Estonia Counties are as follows:
  • Laane
  • Viljandi
  • Laane-Viru
  • Polva
  • Harju
  • Rapla
  • Jarva
  • Muhu
  • Tartu
  • Saare
  • Voru
  • Jogeva
  • Parnu
  • Ida-Viru
  • Hiiu

Initially, there were two sub-divisions in Estonia. They were the parish and county. There were villages in the parish. On the other hand there were a number of parishes under the county. A number of important counties emerged in the 13th century. But after being divided among Livonian Order, Bishopric of Osel-Wiek, Denmark and Bishopric of Dorpat, the autonomy of the parishes and counties came to an end. After going through a number of events, the counties of Estonia were re-established in 1990.

For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  (408) 637-0064   bill@mapxl.com