Facts about Cameroon

Located in Central Africa, Cameroon possesses geological and cultural diversity and is often referred to as “Africa in Miniature”. Some of the natural features of Cameroon include rainforests, deserts, savannas, beaches and mountains. The country has a rich history which dates back to many centuries.
  • The geographic coordinates of Cameroon are 6 00 N, 12 00 E.
  • Spread over a total area of 475,440 sq. km., Cameroon is the 54th largest country in the world. Of its total area, 472,710 sq. km. is land and 2,730 sq. km. is water.
  • The country is slightly larger than the U.S. state of California.
  • Cameroon shares its borders with Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and Nigeria.
  • The country has a coastline of 402 km.

  • As per the latest census, Cameroon has a population of 23,739,218.

  • The largest ethnic group is Cameroon Highlanders, who form around 31% of the population. The other ethnic groups in the country are Equatorial Bantu, Kirdi, Fulani, Northwestern Bantu, Eastern Nigritic, and other Africans. Non-Africans form less than 1% of the population.

  • There are 24 major African language groups in Cameroon. However, there are two official languages: English and French.

  • 40 per cent of the population follows Christianity, 40 percent indigenous beliefs, and 20 per cent follow Islam.

  • Cameroon is a presidential republic
  • Yaounde is the capital of the country
  • Cameroon achieved its independence on January 1, 1960, from French-administered UN trusteeship.
  • The currency of Cameroon is Central African CFA franc

Interesting facts
  • Cameroon has the tallest mountain in West Africa - Mount Cameroon.
  • Dja Faunal Reserve is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  • The name Cameroon is derived from the Portuguese word 'Rio dos Camarões', which means River of Prawns.
  • Cameroon holds the distinction of being the first African country to reach the quarter-final in soccer world cup.

Last Updated on: August 1st, 2018