Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Home / Slovenia / Geography / Slovenia Regions

Slovenia Regions

The Slovenia regions are divided into twelve specific and well defined regions. These are also the regional divisions of Slovenia.
  • Central Slovenia,
  • Dolenjska,
  • Zasavje,
  • Posavje,
  • Savinjsko,
  • Koroska,
  • Podravje,
  • Pomurje
  • Primorska,
  • Notranjska,
  • Goriska,
  • Gorenjska
Central Slovenia
Some parts of Ljubljana Basin and its hilly areas are included in this region of Central Slovenia. This area serves as the transportation hub of Europe. The capital of Slovenia is located in this region. This region has earned popularity due to the business centers, government institutions and Slovene academy of Science and arts.

This region starts from the Ljubljana to the Kolpa River of the country. The Ljubljana-Zagreb highway was opened in 1958 in this region. There are automobile and pharmaceutical centers in this region.

This region is also called the "Black District" due to the presence of large reserves of coal. A big rail road has been built in the 19th century.

This region is famous for its wonderful climate and fertile soil. Orchards and vineyards are the special feature of this area. The tourists would love to visit the Krakovski gozd oak forest which is one of the main attractions of the place.

Slovenia Regions are famous for their natural beauty.