Political Map of Guyana

Guyana is a nation in South America, and is considered part of the Caribbean. The capital of Guyana is located in Georgetown.
Political Map of Guyana
Georgetown Map Venezuela Political Map Brazil Political Map Surinam Political Map
Description : Guyana Political map showing the international boundary, regions boundaries with their capitals and national capital. Disclaimer

Disclaimer  :  All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

Known officially as the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, Guyana is a country located in northern South America. Guyana is typically considered part of the Caribbean, despite its continental location. Guyana is bordered by Venezuela, Brazil, and Suriname, as well as the Atlantic Ocean along its northern coast. The population of Guyana is estimated at about 752,940, and the total area is 214,970 square kilometers (83,000 square miles).

Guyana History
The indigenous people of Guyana come from several Native American tribes, including the Arawak and Carib tribes. European explorers arrived in Guyana, and the Dutch established settlements from 1616 to 1752. The Dutch ceded control of the region to the British in 1814, and it became the colony of British Guiana. The country gained independence from Britain on May 26, 1966, becoming a republic in 1970.

Regions and Cities of Guyana
Guyana is separated into ten regions:
  • Barima-Waini
  • Pomeroon-Supenaam
  • Essequibo Islands-West Demerara
  • Demerara-Mahaica
  • Mahaiaca-Berbice
  • East Berbice-Corentyne
  • Cuyuni-Mazaruni
  • Potaro-Siparuni
  • Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo
  • Upper Demerara-Berbice

The major cities of Guyana are Georgetown, the capital, which is located in the Demerara-Mahaica region, along with Linden, New Amsterdam, Anna Regina, and Bartica. These five largest cities in Guyana are coastal cities, where about 90% of the country's population resides.

Economy of Guyana
Guyana's economy is primarily based on agricultural products, especially rice and sugar, followed by mining of various minerals and natural resources, including bauxite, gold, and diamonds. Demerara sugar, a form of natural cane sugar that comes from the region of the same name, makes up about 28 percent of Guyana's economy.

Barima-Waini24,27520,3397,853MabarumaNorth West
Cuyuni-Mazaruni17,59747,21318,229BarticaMazaruni-Potaro (most)
Demerara-Mahaica310,3202,233862ParadiseEDem (part), WDem (part)
East Berbice-Corentyne123,69536,25513,998New AmsterdamEBer (most), Rupununi (part)
Essequibo Islands-West Demerara103,0613,7551,450Vreed en HoopEssIs (most), WDem (part)
Mahaica-Berbice52,4284,1701,610Fort WellingtonWBer, EBer (part), WBer (part)
Pomeroon-Supenaam49,2536,1952,392Anna ReginaEss (most), EssIs (part), NW (part)
Potaro-Siparuni10,09520,0527,742MahdiaMazP (part), Rupununi (part)
Upper Demerara-Berbice41,11217,0816,595LindenWDem (most); EBer, MazP, Rup (parts)
Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo19,38757,79022,313LethemRupununi (part)
10 regions751,223215,08383,044
Note  : - Population: 2002-09-15 census


Last Updated on: August 18th, 2018