Home > Guyana Map > Guyana Facts

Guyana Facts

by Vishal Kumar

Where is Guyana? Guyana is a sovereign state located on the northern coast of South America. Culturally, it is considered part of the Anglophone Caribbean. What is the capital of…

Where is Guyana?

Guyana is a sovereign state located on the northern coast of South America. Culturally, it is considered part of the Anglophone Caribbean.

What is the capital of Guyana?

Georgetown is the capital and largest city of Guyana. It is located in the Demerara-Mahaica region of the country. The city has an estimated population of 239,227. Georgetown is the administrative and financial services centre of the country. The city is also a famous tourist destination with major attractions like St. George’s Anglican Cathedral, and the Demerara Harbour Bridge.

What countries border Guyana?

Guyana is bordered by Suriname to the east, Venezuela to the north-west, and Brazil to the south and south-west.

How big is Guyana?

Guyana covers a total area of 83,000 square miles of which 76,000 square miles is land and the remaining 7,000 square miles is covered with water.

What are the ethnic groups in Guyana?

The population of Guyana is racially and ethnically diverse. The majority of the the Guyanese population belongs to the descendants of immigrants from India, known as East Indians or Indo-Guyanese. The second-largest ethnic group in the country are the Afro-Guyanese, comprising thirty percent of the population. There are people of mixed heritage as well, and aboriginals like the Arawak, Carib, Macushi, Akawaio, Arecuna, Wai Wai, Patamona, Wapixana, and Warao constitute ten percent of the Guyanaese. There are also a number of Portuguese and Chinese in the country.

What are the administrative divisions of Guyana?

Guyana is divided into ten regions that are further divided into twenty-seven neighbourhood councils.

Who are the political leaders of Guyana?

The government of Guyana is a semi-presidential republic.
President – Bharrat Jagdeo
Prime Minister – Sam Hinds

What currency is used in Guyana?

The Guyanese dollar denoted by the ISO 4217 code GYD is the official currency of Guyana. It has been the nation’s currency since January 29, 1839. It is denoted by the currency sign $.

What is the official language of Guyana?

The official language of Guyana is English. and used in its schools. Cariban languages such as the Akawaio, Wai-Wai, Arawak and Macushi are the minority languages. A dialect of the Guyanese language, the Guyanese Creole is also widely spoken.

What is the religion of Guyana?

The pre-dominant religion of Guyana is Christianity. The largest denominations include Pentecostals, Roman Catholics, Anglicans, and Seventh-day Adventists. Almost twenty-eight percent of the people practice Hinduism. There are also a few members of Islam, the Baha’i Faith and Rastafarianism.

What is the economy of Guyana like?

The economy of Guyana depends on agriculture; rice is the major crop. Bauxite mining, gold mining, timber, and shrimp fishing are the other economic activities that drive the finances of the country. In 2010, the GDP (PPP) of Guyana was estimated at $5.379 billion, while the per capita was $6,964. The country has a large sugar industry, which accounts for twenty-eight percent of all export earnings. Manufactured items, machinery, petroleum, and food items are the major imports. The main trading partners of Guyana are: Canada, United States, Portugal, United Kingdom, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, China, Cuba, Singapore, Japan , Brazil, and Suriname.

When is the national day of Guyana celebrated?

The national day of Guyana is celebrated on February 23 every year. The day is celebrated as the Republic Day, and is also known as Mashramani. On this day, Guyana was declared a republic in 1970.

Related Maps