Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
Home / El Salvador / Culture

San Miguel department is located in the eastern part of El Salvador. There are twenty-one municipalities in this department. Below is the map of San Miguel showing its municipalities.

Map of San Miguel

San Miguel is another popular city in El Salvador that is known for its beauty and scenic landscape. San Miguel is a small city but it has a dense population. It is one of the largest producers of coffee, textiles and chemicals in El Salvador. The average population of the city is almost 1282,367 people.
The city of San Miguel is well-known for its rich historical background. The people of San Miguel are very lively, and enthusiastic by nature. The rural population in San Miguel city takes to farming and agriculture and the urban population are mostly working in industries or are engaged in private business.

There are almost 20 departments that comprises the whole city of San Miguel and some of them are as follows:
  • El Transito
  • Moncagua
  • San Antonio del Mosco
  • Uluazapa
  • San Jorge
  • Quelepa
  • San Rafael Oriente
  • San Luis de la Reina
  • Ciudad Barrios
  • Lolotique
Major Tourist Attraction in San Miguel

One of the most active volcano is situated in the region of San Miguel in El Salvador. It is one of the popular tourist sites and is a must- see place for all tourists and travelers who visit San Miguel . The volcano is symmetrical in shape. There is a deep volcanic crater on the mouth of this active volcano that has changed shape recently due to recent eruptions.

FAQs and Answers on History and Geography

EU GDPR Update
MapsofWorld has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofWorld Privacy Policy and Terms.
For further info please get in touch with
Bill Spicer Executive VP, MapXL
For US Queries
  (408) 637-0064