Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Chile Map / Regions / Los Lagos Map

Los Lagos Map

Los Lagos Map
Description : Map showing the administrative divisions of the Los Lagos region, Chile. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

  Provinces of Los Lagos Region  
LlanquihuePuerto Montt368,42714,876

Los Lagos is the tenth administrative region of Chile from north to south. This region is flanked by Araucania region in the north and the Asien region in the south. Puerto Montt is the capital city of this region.

Pacific Ocean lies in the west and the Argentina Republic in the east. The island Chiloe, the second largest island lies in this region. It also houses Lake Llanquihue which is the second largest lake. The important cities of Los Lagos are Valdivia, Osorno, Castro, Ancud, La Union, Puerto Varas and Rio Bueno.

Valdivia is one of the important cities in Los Lagos region, located in southern Chile. It is located at the confluence of the rivers Calle Calle, Valdivia and Cau Cau. The economic activity of this region is tourism, paper manufacturing, forestry, metallurgy and also beer production. The main tourist attractions of this city are the forts and museums.

The Museo De Arte Contempornea is an art museum located in Isla Teja. Museo de la Cerveza is a museum, which displays information about beer production. Chiloe Island is also known as the 'Greater Island of Chiloe'. It is a South American island in the Pacific Ocean, off the coast of Chile. This island is famous for its indigenous architectural style known as the Chilota architecture. In this type of architecture the construction is mainly made of wood and roof shingles.

The second largest lake, Llanquihue Lake is situated in the southern Chile. The lake is spread over an area of 860 sq km. The volcano Osorno stands on the southeastern shore of the lake. It is one of the most active volcanoes in the world. The lakes and the volcanic mountains are the main tourist attractions of the Los Lagos region.

The different political and administrative divisions of Los Lagos are Osorno, Llanquihue, Chiloe, Paleno and Valdivia. The Osorno province has 9, 2237 square kilometer. It has seven municipalities. The provincial capital is the city of Osorno.

The beautiful natural setting of the Los Lagos with its picturesque lakes, wonderful mountain passes, the volcano and los lagos golf courses behold the tourists, as they yearn for more.

Last Updated : April 15, 2014

"By clicking OK or by using this Website, you consent to the use of cookies. Your personal data will be governed by Mapsofworld Privacy Policy and Terms."

For further info please get in touch with us at