Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Chile Map / Regions / Araucania Map

Araucania Map

Araucania Map
Description : Map showing the administrative divisions of the Araucania region, Chile. Disclaimer

Disclaimer : All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited, its directors and employees do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

  Provinces of Araucania Region  

Araucania in Chile is an administrative region of the country. Araucania region is divided into two provinces of Malleco in the north and the Cautin in the south. It is the homeland of the famous Mapuche people who were successful in resisting the Spanish and the Inca conquests. Temcu is the capital of this region.

Araucania experiences frequent rainfalls which support agriculture and cattle rising in this region. It has numerous volcanoes and blue lakes. One of the most beautiful cities in Araucania is Vladivia. This city is surrounded by several rivers. This area houses lakes with clear and pristine water. Osorno and the famous Parques Nacional Puyehue have spectacular thermal baths. The torrential rivers support rich green vegetation. Tourists can hike and trek through these forests. Bicycle and horseback excursions are also common. Parque Nacional de Conguillo is a National Park near Temuco. The stupendous Llaima Volcano with its excellent ski slopes is located in Araucania. In this region there are large stretches of Araucaria forest. Other cities in Araucania region are Angol, Puerto Saavedra and Cunco.

The economy of Araucania is mainly agricultural and is based on forest production. Rich plantations of pine forest and eucalyptus and Araucania yarn are found in this region. The coastal zone of Puerto Saavedra is the main commercial hub in this region.

The Araucania region in Chile with the blue lakes, volcanoes and the rich forests is one of the best tourist destinations.

Last Updated : April 15, 2014