Maps of World
Current, Credible, Consistent
World Map / Chile Map / Chile Regions

Regions of Chile

  Regions of Chile  
Arica y ParinacotaArica212,81316,873
CoquimboLa Serena687,80640,580
Libertador General Bernardo O'HigginsRancagua851,40616,387
Los LagosPuerto Montt767,71448,584
Los RiosValdivia364,18318,430
Magallanes y de la Antartica ChilenaPunta Arenas155,332132,291
Region Metropolitana (Santiago)Santiago6,604,83515,403

Chile Regions can be categorized into thirteen regions each of which is supervised by a governmental authority decreed by the president of Chile.
Almost all the regions of Chile have a tourist significance characteristic because of its excellent natural beauty.

The regions in Chile carry a Roman numeral, along with numbers alloted in the sequence of the location from north to south of Chile. In the field of administration the Roman numeral is more preferred rather than the name of the city. The exception being the national capital, this region is officially called the Santiago Metropolitan Region.

Regions in Chile are again sub divided into provinces. The provinces are controlled by the governors, who are also nominated by the president. There are all together 51 provinces in Chile. Provinces are again categorized into communes, which are headed by municipalities. The regions of Chile are:
  • RM Santiago Metropolitan Region
  • Aysen1 Region
  • Araucania Region
  • Maule Region
  • O'Higgins Region
  • Tarapaca Region
  • Antofagasta Region
  • Atacama Region
  • Bio-Bio Region
  • Coquimbo Region
  • Magallanes
  • Valparaiso Region
  • Los Lagos Region

The excellent landscapes in the Chile Regions make the places loved by the tourists and visit again and again. The resorts, food, culture, festivals, and the people of these regions make Chile a country worth of recognition worldwide.

Last Updated : April 15, 2014